JobsOhio http://wcbe.org en Gambling Interests Say JobsOhio Ruling Protects Them From Suit http://wcbe.org/post/gambling-interests-say-jobsohio-ruling-protects-them-suit <p><span lang="EN">A coalition of gambling interests is citing a recent Ohio Supreme Court decision involving Governor John Kasich's privatized job-creation agency, JobsOhio, as grounds to dismiss a separate lawsuit challenging&nbsp;video lottery terminals at horse tracks. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:08:34 +0000 Associated Press 58813 at http://wcbe.org Attorney Tries Complex Tactic In New Challenge To JobsOhio’s Constitutionality http://wcbe.org/post/attorney-tries-complex-tactic-new-challenge-jobsohio-s-constitutionality <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">Two weeks after the Ohio Supreme Court threw out a constitutional challenge against JobsOhio, another attorney is trying a complex tactic to get the court to consider the question.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:29:17 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58162 at http://wcbe.org Attorney Tries Complex Tactic In New Challenge To JobsOhio’s Constitutionality Ohio Supreme Court Rules On Standing And JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-supreme-court-rules-standing-and-jobsohio <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The Ohio Supreme Court’s decision on JobsOhio doesn’t say anything about whether the legislature’s creation of that public-private entity was constitutional.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 15:58:51 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57557 at http://wcbe.org Ohio House Democrats Push For Transparency Measures http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-house-democrats-push-transparency-measures <p><span lang="EN">Minority Democrats in the state legislature have long called for more transparency from Majority Republicans and GOP Governor John Kasich. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 00:07:16 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 52949 at http://wcbe.org Cookie Maker Gets State, Local Tax Breaks http://wcbe.org/post/cookie-maker-gets-state-local-tax-breaks <p></p><p><span lang="EN">The flower-selling company that owns Cheryl’s Cookies is expanding its facility in Westerville. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 17:35:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51458 at http://wcbe.org Cookie Maker Gets State, Local Tax Breaks Group Wants Records Involving JobsOhio, Kvamme http://wcbe.org/post/group-wants-records-involving-jobsohio-kvamme <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A group critical of Governor John Kasich's private job creation entity, JobsOhio, says the California venture capitalist that served as its first president may have used that position to set himself up for a big payday in the future. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 12:48:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 47821 at http://wcbe.org State Auditor Releases Long-Awaited JobsOhio Report http://wcbe.org/post/state-auditor-releases-long-awaited-jobsohio-report <p><font face="Times New Roman">State Auditor Dave Yost has completed his audit of the state’s non profit job creation company, JobsOhio. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 22:32:33 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 46916 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Supreme Court Hears Preliminary Case of JobsOhio Constitutionality http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-supreme-court-hears-preliminary-case-jobsohio-constitutionality <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Supreme Court heard arguments Wednesday over who may file a lawsuit to settle the question of whether the state's job creation entity, JobsOhio, is constitutional. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 02:17:58 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 46059 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Supreme Court Hears Preliminary Case of JobsOhio Constitutionality Ohio House Democrats Push Package Of Government Reforms http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-house-democrats-push-package-government-reforms <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Democrats in the Ohio House are advocating a package of proposals they say would make state government more accessible and accountable. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 23:01:23 +0000 Associated Press 45603 at http://wcbe.org Former JobsOhio Chief Sought Private Investment By Pension Fund http://wcbe.org/post/former-jobsohio-chief-sought-private-investment-pension-fund <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A spokesperson says the former head of Ohio Governor John Kasich's job-creation entity JobsOhio approached the state's largest pension fund seeking private investment business but was rejected. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 10:36:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 45380 at http://wcbe.org Despite State Tax Break, Verizon Cutting Jobs http://wcbe.org/post/despite-state-tax-break-verizon-cutting-jobs <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">More than 300 jobs will be lost in the consolidation of a wireless voice and data business that received a tax credit recommended by JobsOhio, the state&#39;s privatized nonprofit job creation board. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 11:26:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 44076 at http://wcbe.org More Details On Potential Conflicts-Of-Interest At JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/more-details-potential-conflicts-interest-jobsohio <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Ethics Commission has warned six of nine directors of JobsOhio&#39;s board their business interests raise potential conflicts of interest. Fri, 27 Sep 2013 10:38:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43881 at http://wcbe.org Commission Finds Possible Conflicts At JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/commission-finds-possible-conflicts-jobsohio <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Ethics Commission has found possible conflicts-of-interest by employees of JobsOhio, the private jobs entity created by Republican Ohio Governor John Kasich. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 10:53:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 43804 at http://wcbe.org State Auditor Says JobsOhio Audit Will Be Ready In October http://wcbe.org/post/state-auditor-says-jobsohio-audit-will-be-ready-october <P>Ohio’s Auditor Dave Yost says he still wants some answers about how JobsOhio, the state’s private non-profit job creation company, is spending its money. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 21:12:24 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 43018 at http://wcbe.org Dem Gubernatorial Candidate Details Proposal For JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/dem-gubernatorial-candidate-details-proposal-jobsohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Democrat who seeks to unseat Ohio Governor John Kasich next year says the state's privatized job-creation office needs stronger ethics and transparency rules to protect against conflicts of interest and corruption. Mon, 09 Sep 2013 21:43:40 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 42790 at http://wcbe.org Democrat Wants To Rush JobsOhio Audit http://wcbe.org/post/democrat-wants-rush-jobsohio-audit <P>Democrats are hammering on the Governor’s public-private job creating entity as another law related to JobsOhio takes effect. Statehouse correspondent Karen Kasler has the latest. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 20:57:39 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 42456 at http://wcbe.org Dems Want IG To Probe JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/dems-want-ig-probe-jobsohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Two Democratic state lawmakers are asking Ohio Inspector General Randall Meyer to investigate possible conflicts of interest at Republican Governor John Kasich's private job-creation entity, JobsOhio. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 11:45:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42028 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Sets Date To Hear JobsOhio Challenge http://wcbe.org/post/supco-sets-date-hear-jobsohio-challenge <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Republican-controlled Ohio Supreme Court has set a November 6th date to hear oral arguments over whether opponents of JobsOhio have the standing to sue. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 10:40:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41820 at http://wcbe.org Democrats Push For Ban On Governor Receiving Outside Funds http://wcbe.org/post/democrats-push-ban-governor-receiving-outside-funds <P>Recent controversy involving Governor Kasich’s deferred compensation payments from a company that has received money through JobsOhio has prompted some Democratic State Representatives to propose a new bill. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 16:51:47 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 41682 at http://wcbe.org Democrats Want Closer Scrutiny Of Tax Credit Recipients http://wcbe.org/post/democrats-want-closer-scrutiny-tax-credit-recipients <P>Democrats are continuing to sound off about a recent report that Columbus-based Worthington Industries received more than 600-thousand dollars worth of state tax credits under Governor John Kasich, who received a salary as a board member and deferred compensation payouts from that company. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 01:02:39 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 41574 at http://wcbe.org