Ohio Department of Job and Family Services http://wcbe.org en Ohio's Jobless Rate Steady http://wcbe.org/post/ohios-jobless-rate-steady <p>Ohio's unemployment rate for June was 5.5 percent, unchanged from the previous month. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:57:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59745 at http://wcbe.org Ohio's Jobless Rate Steady Judge Orders State Payment To Government Services Firm http://wcbe.org/post/judge-orders-state-payment-government-services-firm <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Court of Claims has awarded a government services firm 1.3 million dollars after the state canceled its contract with 99 percent of the work completed. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 10:38:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59486 at http://wcbe.org Judge Orders State Payment To Government Services Firm Ohio Delays New Requirements For Jobless Benefits http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-delays-new-requirements-jobless-benefits <div><p>The state says it's delaying the enforcement of new regulations that require Ohioans to do more to get unemployment insurance benefits.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 16:22:39 +0000 Associated Press 58391 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Delays New Requirements For Jobless Benefits New Rules For Unemployment Insurance Beneficiaries http://wcbe.org/post/new-rules-unemployment-insurance-beneficiaries <p><span lang="EN">There are some new rules Ohioans must follow in order to receive their unemployment insurance benefits. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 10:53:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 57472 at http://wcbe.org New Rules For Unemployment Insurance Beneficiaries Local Jobless Rate Hits Seven-Year Low http://wcbe.org/post/local-jobless-rate-hits-seven-year-low <p>C<span lang="EN">entral Ohio's unemployment rate is now at a seven-year low. Thu, 22 May 2014 11:46:54 +0000 Jim Letizia 56454 at http://wcbe.org Local Jobless Rate Hits Seven-Year Low State Releases April Jobless Figures http://wcbe.org/post/state-releases-april-jobless-figures <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's unemployment rate has dropped to the lowest level in more than six years. Fri, 16 May 2014 15:14:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56121 at http://wcbe.org State Releases April Jobless Figures Ohio Launches Website For Suspected Fraud Reports http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-launches-website-suspected-fraud-reports <div>The state has launched a website designed to make it easier to report cases of suspected fraud in Medicaid, food assistance programs and other social services.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 14:28:49 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 55846 at http://wcbe.org State Unemployment Rate Hits Six Year Low http://wcbe.org/post/state-unemployment-rate-hits-six-year-low <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's unemployment rate dropped by four-tenths of a percent in March to the lowest level in six years. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:01:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54546 at http://wcbe.org State Unemployment Rate Hits Six Year Low State Releases February Jobless Numbers http://wcbe.org/post/state-releases-february-jobless-numbers <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The state’s unemployment rate dropped in the last month, and is now below the national average. But not everyone is looking at jobs numbers in the same way.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 22 Mar 2014 01:05:09 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 53087 at http://wcbe.org State Releases February Jobless Numbers State Jobless Rate Falls http://wcbe.org/post/state-jobless-rate-falls <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's official unemployment rate fell by 3-tenths of a point in January to 6.9 percent. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 17:02:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52277 at http://wcbe.org New Rules Force Thousands Off Of Food Stamps http://wcbe.org/post/new-rules-force-thousands-food-stamps <p><span lang="EN">More than 10 thousand low-income Ohioans lost their food stamp benefits this month as the state began enforcing work requirements that were waived in recent years. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 17:01:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50013 at http://wcbe.org Ohio's Jobless Rate Declines http://wcbe.org/post/ohios-jobless-rate-declines <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's official unemployment rate is now 7.2 percent. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 16:57:04 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50012 at http://wcbe.org Regional Jobless Rate Holds Steady http://wcbe.org/post/regional-jobless-rate-holds-steady <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The jobless rate in central Ohio was 6.1 percent last month, unchanged from October. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 17:30:57 +0000 Jim Letizia 48732 at http://wcbe.org State Jobless Rate Declined In November http://wcbe.org/post/state-jobless-rate-declined-november <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio's unemployment rate was 7.4 percent in November, down a tenth of a percentage point from October, but six tenths of a point above the seasonally adjusted jobless rate in November of last year. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 17:01:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48437 at http://wcbe.org Lawmaker Wants Food Stamp Benefits Extended To More Needy Ohioans http://wcbe.org/post/lawmaker-wants-food-stamp-benefits-extended-more-needy-ohioans <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">More than one in six Ohio households is facing food insecurity. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 17:31:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 48375 at http://wcbe.org Central Ohio Jobless Rates Declined In September http://wcbe.org/post/central-ohio-jobless-rates-declined-september <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">State officials say the unemployment rate in the Columbus area fell four tenths of a point from September to 6.1 percent last month. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:12:14 +0000 Jim Letizia 47285 at http://wcbe.org State Welfare Rolls Got Larger Last Month http://wcbe.org/post/state-welfare-rolls-got-larger-last-month <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Statistics show the Ohio welfare rolls increased in October for the first time since the state began enforcing tougher job and work-training requirements. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 12:01:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 47113 at http://wcbe.org State Jobless Rate Increases http://wcbe.org/post/state-jobless-rate-increases <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">State officials say Ohio's unemployment rate was 7.5 percent in October, an increase of a tenth of a point from September and two tenths of a point from August. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 17:27:23 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 46964 at http://wcbe.org Report: Ohio Not Inspecting Day Care Centers Annually http://wcbe.org/post/report-ohio-not-inspecting-day-care-centers-annually <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A report by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services shows Ohio has not always met its requirements for annual, unannounced inspections of day care centers and could conduct more comprehensive background checks on employees. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 17:27:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 45979 at http://wcbe.org Unemployment Rate Declines In August http://wcbe.org/post/unemployment-rate-declines-august <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio's unemployment rate has increased slightly. Fri, 20 Sep 2013 15:35:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43500 at http://wcbe.org