Columbus City Schools http://wcbe.org en New Columbus School Building Under Construction http://wcbe.org/post/new-columbus-school-building-under-construction <p>Columbus City Schools and local government officials broke ground yesterday on the new Africentric Early College School project.&nbsp; Thu, 17 Jul 2014 11:02:44 +0000 Jim Letizia 59637 at http://wcbe.org New Columbus School Building Under Construction State Revokes License Of Former CCS Teacher http://wcbe.org/post/state-revokes-license-former-ccs-teacher <p>The State Board of Education has revoked the license of a former Columbus City Schools teacher found guilty of trying to coerce an undercover police officer to perform a sex act on him at a city park last year. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 10:44:52 +0000 Jim Letizia 59558 at http://wcbe.org New CCS Treasurer To Be Named Next Week http://wcbe.org/post/new-ccs-treasurer-be-named-next-week <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools officials say they will name former Worthington City Schools treasurer Stan Bahorek as the district's new treasurer next week. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:56:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 59295 at http://wcbe.org New CCS Treasurer To Be Named Next Week CCS Treasurer Search Down To Two Candidates http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-treasurer-search-down-two-candidates <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools officials have chosen two finalists from a pool of 17 people who applied to become the district's treasurer. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:51:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 59232 at http://wcbe.org CCS Treasurer Search Down To Two Candidates CCS 3rd-Graders Re-Take Reading Test; District Tries To Round Up More http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-3rd-graders-re-take-reading-test-district-tries-round-more <p><span lang="EN">641 Columbus City Schools third-graders got another crack at the reading portion of the state assessment test today. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 23:17:07 +0000 Alison Holm 59117 at http://wcbe.org CCS 3rd-Graders Re-Take Reading Test; District Tries To Round Up More ODE Subpoenas Records In CCS Data Scandal Probe http://wcbe.org/post/ode-subpoenas-records-ccs-data-scandal-probe <p><span lang="EN">Officials with the Ohio Department of Education have subpoenaed the records of former Columbus City Schools Superintendent Gene Harris and 60 current and former district officials as part of an investigation of the district's attendance data rigging scandal. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 10:16:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 58689 at http://wcbe.org ODE Subpoenas Records In CCS Data Scandal Probe Court: Harris Can't Be Sued In CCS Attendance Data Scandal http://wcbe.org/post/court-harris-cant-be-sued-ccs-attendance-data-scandal <p><span lang="EN">A state appeals court says former Columbus City Schools Superintendent Gene Harris may not sued in the recent attendance data-scrubbing scandal. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:55:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 58521 at http://wcbe.org Court: Harris Can't Be Sued In CCS Attendance Data Scandal State Wants Five Dozen CCS Employees To Give Up Their Licenses http://wcbe.org/post/state-wants-five-dozen-ccs-employees-give-their-licenses <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Education is giving 60 principals, assistant principals and other Columbus City Schools administrators a chance to give up their teaching licenses voluntarily or face a costly process to have them revoked. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:18:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 58447 at http://wcbe.org State Wants Five Dozen CCS Employees To Give Up Their Licenses CCS Officials Go Door-To-Door To Get Third-Graders In Summer School http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-officials-go-door-door-get-third-graders-summer-school <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools employees and an army of volunteers are literally going door-to-door this week in what is being called&nbsp;a "Summer School Blitz", designed to get students who haven't passed the third grade reading assessment back into class.&nbsp; Wed, 25 Jun 2014 00:01:12 +0000 Alison Holm 58358 at http://wcbe.org CCS Officials Go Door-To-Door To Get Third-Graders In Summer School 74% Of CCS Third-Graders Pass Reading Test Needed For Promotion http://wcbe.org/post/74-ccs-third-graders-pass-reading-test-needed-promotion <p><font size="3">The Columbus City Schools' focus on getting third graders reading at grade level is paying off - but the promotion of some students is still in question. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 02:06:47 +0000 Alison Holm 57875 at http://wcbe.org 74% Of CCS Third-Graders Pass Reading Test Needed For Promotion CCS Approves $22.7 Million In Budget Cuts, Adds New Summer Programs http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-approves-227-million-budget-cuts-adds-new-summer-programs <p><font size="3">The Columbus City Schools board last night approved a new round of cuts intended to close a 50 million dollar gap, and discussed plans for new summer school programs. Alison Holm has more. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Alison Holm 55578 at http://wcbe.org CCS Approves $22.7 Million In Budget Cuts, Adds New Summer Programs Columbus Gives Tax Break To Company Owned By Buffett http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-gives-tax-break-company-owned-buffett <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council last night approved two tax breaks for a profitable private company to locate at Port Columbus. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 11:14:34 +0000 Jim Letizia 55139 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Gives Tax Break To Company Owned By Buffett More Problems With CCS Records Found http://wcbe.org/post/more-problems-ccs-records-found <p><span lang="EN">A new internal audit&nbsp;has uncovered&nbsp;more data discrepancies in the Columbus City Schools. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 10:48:38 +0000 Jim Letizia 54869 at http://wcbe.org More Problems With CCS Records Found Columbus City Schools Receive Financial Update http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-city-schools-receive-financial-update <p>An update on the 5-year financial forecast shows the Columbus City Schools sitting a little more comfortably than originally projected last fall. &nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:24:23 +0000 Alison Holm 54813 at http://wcbe.org CCS Students Get Homework To Make Up For Calamity Days http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-students-get-homework-make-calamity-days <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools officials say students will have to do work at home to make up for classes canceled during the winter. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:31:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54463 at http://wcbe.org Second Student Sues CCS Over Actions Of Resource Officer http://wcbe.org/post/second-student-sues-ccs-over-actions-resource-officer <p><span lang="EN">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </span></p><p><span lang="EN">The family of a Columbus teenager who had a sexual relationship with a former Columbus police school resource officer is suing the Columbus City Schools and some administrators. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 11:42:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 53430 at http://wcbe.org Second Student Sues CCS Over Actions Of Resource Officer 2 CCS Principals File Wrongful Termination Lawsuit http://wcbe.org/post/2-ccs-principals-file-wrongful-termination-lawsuit <p><span lang="EN">Two principals who are being fired for their alleged roles in the Columbus City Schools data-rigging scandal are suing the district and several officials. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 11:23:14 +0000 Jim Letizia 52972 at http://wcbe.org 2 CCS Principals File Wrongful Termination Lawsuit CCS Board Votes To Terminate 3 More Principals In Data Scrubbing Scandal http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-board-votes-terminate-3-more-principals-data-scrubbing-scandal <p>The Columbus City Schools board voted unanimously last night to cut three principals involved in the districts data-scrubbing scandal, despite last minute appeals from its constituents. Alison Holm reports. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 08:58:00 +0000 Alison Holm 52893 at http://wcbe.org CCS Board Votes To Terminate 3 More Principals In Data Scrubbing Scandal Suspension Won't Be Removed From CCS Finger-pointing Student's Record http://wcbe.org/post/suspension-wont-be-removed-ccs-finger-pointing-students-record <p>A ten-year-old Columbus boy suspended for pointing his finger&nbsp; at a classmate and pretending it was a gun will not have his punishment removed from his record.&nbsp; Tue, 18 Mar 2014 10:56:24 +0000 Jim Letizia 52850 at http://wcbe.org Board Votes On School Closures http://wcbe.org/post/board-votes-school-closures <p>The Columbus City Schools board voted unanimously last night to close four schools and relocate a fifth.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 15:06:09 +0000 Alison Holm 52148 at http://wcbe.org