FirstEnergy http://wcbe.org en Source Of Local Power Outage Undetermined http://wcbe.org/post/source-local-power-outage-undetermined <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Work is underway to find the source of a power outage in Franklin County. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:03:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 49006 at http://wcbe.org Energy Efficiency, Renewable Companies Oppose Renewable Energy Standards Overhaul http://wcbe.org/post/energy-efficiency-renewable-companies-oppose-renewable-energy-standards-overhaul <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Akron-based FirstEnergy has been leading the fight to weaken the state's renewable energy standards. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 12:41:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 46342 at http://wcbe.org Utility Wants Changes In Energy Standards http://wcbe.org/post/utility-wants-changes-energy-standards <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Akron-based FirstEnergy has been advocating for changes to the state's energy efficiency standards. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 11:57:59 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 46150 at http://wcbe.org More Cracks Found At Davis-Besse http://wcbe.org/post/more-cracks-found-davis-besse <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Akron-based FirstEnergy says workers have found more cracks in the concrete building housing the reactor of the Davis-Besse nuclear power plant near Toledo. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 11:01:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43667 at http://wcbe.org Report: Ohio Second For Carbon Dioxide Emissions http://wcbe.org/post/report-ohio-second-carbon-dioxide-emissions <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A report by an environmental group ranks Ohio second in the nation for the amount of carbon dioxide emitted by coal-fired power plants. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 11:31:33 +0000 Jim Letizia 43060 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Utility Makes Electric Grid Improvements http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-utility-makes-electric-grid-improvements <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>This week marks the tenth anniversary of the Great Northeast Blackout. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 10:37:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 41410 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Orders Repayment Of Renewable Energy Overcharges http://wcbe.org/post/puco-orders-repayment-renewable-energy-overcharges <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has ordered Akron-based FirstEnergy to credit 43.3 million dollars to 2 million customers overcharged by the utitity for renewable energy purchases. Thu, 08 Aug 2013 10:24:14 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 40880 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Delays Vote On Energy Rebates http://wcbe.org/post/puco-delays-vote-energy-rebates <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has delayed action in a case potentially affecting 96 to 126 million dollars in rebates of renewable energy overcharges to customers of Akron-based FirstEnergy. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 10:48:46 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40437 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Utility Closing More Power Plants http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-utility-closing-more-power-plants <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Akron-based FirstEnergy plans to close two coal-fired power plants in Pennsylvania rather than install 270 million dollars worth of pollution control equipment to meet tougher federal mercury emission standards.&nbsp; Tue, 09 Jul 2013 16:42:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 39007 at http://wcbe.org FirstEnergy To Improve Power Grid http://wcbe.org/post/firstenergy-improve-power-grid <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Akron-based FirstEnergy says it will spend more than 150-million-dollars this year to upgrade portions of Ohio's power grid. Tue, 26 Mar 2013 12:26:54 +0000 Jim Letizia 32919 at http://wcbe.org Browns Fans Pan Stadium Naming Rights Sale http://wcbe.org/post/browns-fans-pan-stadium-naming-rights-sale <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Cleveland Browns are selling the naming rights for their taxpayer funded </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>stadium to Akron-based FirstEnergy. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 17:26:39 +0000 Jim Letizia 28994 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Utility Cutting Jobs http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-utility-cutting-jobs <P><SPAN lang=EN>Akron-based utility FirstEngery says 200 of it's 17-hundred workers will lose </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>their jobs in November. Thu, 20 Sep 2012 13:33:24 +0000 Jim Letizia 22995 at http://wcbe.org