Election Coverage http://wcbe.org en GOP Wins Tight Ohio House Race http://wcbe.org/post/gop-wins-tight-ohio-house-race <P><SPAN lang=EN>Democrats have lost a tight Ohio House race in Cuyahoga </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>County, narrowing the minority party's chances of controlling 40 seats in the </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>next legislative session. Fri, 07 Dec 2012 12:02:49 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 27052 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Congresswoman To Lead Black Caucus http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-congresswoman-lead-black-caucus <P><SPAN lang=EN>Congresswoman Marcia Fudge of Ohio has been elected to lead the Congressional Black Caucus. Mon, 19 Nov 2012 16:00:57 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 26156 at http://wcbe.org Counting Provisional Ballots http://wcbe.org/post/counting-provisional-ballots <P>County boards of elections will be starting the process of counting provisional ballots this weekend. Sat, 17 Nov 2012 00:04:47 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 26074 at http://wcbe.org Defeated Republican Justice Won't Seek Open Spot http://wcbe.org/post/defeated-republican-justice-wont-seek-open-spot <P>A justice bounced from the bench by voters last week won’t try to stay on the court, even though a vacancy is opening up. Sat, 17 Nov 2012 00:02:05 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 26073 at http://wcbe.org Reports: Pelosi Wants To Remain Democratic Leader In House http://wcbe.org/post/reports-pelosi-wants-remain-democratic-leader-house <strong>Update at 10:25 a.m. ET. Pelosi Confirms:</strong><p>Saying that she wants to work on "empowering women .... growing the economy ... Wed, 14 Nov 2012 14:39:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 25892 at http://wcbe.org Reports: Pelosi Wants To Remain Democratic Leader In House A Week Later, Pollster Says: 'I Was Drinking That Republican Kool-Aid' http://wcbe.org/post/week-later-pollster-says-i-was-drinking-republican-kool-aid If voters were surprised to watch TV networks call the election for President Obama over Republican Mitt Romney minutes after polls closed in California last week, perhaps it was because of earlier statements like these:<p><em>--"Romney has pretty much nailed down Florida."</em><p><em>--"I think in places like North Carolina, Virginia and Florida, we've already painted those red, we're not polling any of those states again."</em><p><em>--"Minnesota is very much a battleground state due to the low minority population of the state and President Obama's problems with white voters. Wed, 14 Nov 2012 13:52:00 +0000 S.V. DÁTE 25888 at http://wcbe.org A Week Later, Pollster Says: 'I Was Drinking That Republican Kool-Aid' State Lawmaker Discusses "Triple Flipper" Status http://wcbe.org/post/state-lawmaker-discusses-triple-flipper-status <P>In 1992, Ohio voters put term limits into the state constitution for state legislators. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 23:44:45 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 25708 at http://wcbe.org Changing Judicial Election System? http://wcbe.org/post/changing-judicial-election-system <P>Ohioans elect judges on all levels. But there may be a renewed push to change that system. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 14:21:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 25671 at http://wcbe.org Husted Says Stop Exaggerating Voting Problems http://wcbe.org/post/husted-says-stop-exaggerating-voting-problems <P>Republican Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted is telling Democrats and Republicans to stop exaggerating problems with the election process and rules. Fri, 09 Nov 2012 14:18:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 25670 at http://wcbe.org Dems Look To Oust Kasich http://wcbe.org/post/dems-look-oust-kasich <P>At their election night party, Ohio Democrats began thinking about the next campaign. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 14:26:53 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 25600 at http://wcbe.org Dems Say Issue 2 Will Be Back http://wcbe.org/post/dems-say-issue-2-will-be-back <P>Backers of a defeated ballot proposal to revise Ohio's redistricting process say the state's political map, not the voters, determined Tuesday's congressional and legislative races. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 14:23:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 25599 at http://wcbe.org Voters Approve Majority Of School Issues http://wcbe.org/post/voters-approve-majority-school-issues <P>Ohio voters Tuesday approved more than half of the proposed school funding measures. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 12:48:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 25593 at http://wcbe.org What does continued GOP control of General Assembly mean for tax cuts http://wcbe.org/post/what-does-continued-gop-control-general-assembly-mean-tax-cuts <P>Democrats may have won the presidential race and a US Senate contest in Ohio... but voters here also decided to keep Republicans in firm control of the Ohio House and senate.&nbsp; What is the GOP majority likely to do with that continued hold on power?&nbsp; And can the minority Democrats do much to influence them?&nbsp; Those are the questions that statehouse correspondent Bill Cohen has been asking.</P> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 00:13:30 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Bill Cohen 25572 at http://wcbe.org Voter Turnout In Ohio Lower Than 2004, 2008 http://wcbe.org/post/voter-turnout-ohio-lower-2004-2008 <P><SPAN lang=EN>Ohio officials say the voter turnout for Tuesday's election was just more than 68 percent. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 18:18:16 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 25545 at http://wcbe.org Mixed Results For School Levies http://wcbe.org/post/mixed-results-school-levies <P>School officials in Cleveland, Akron, Cincinnati and Youngstown saw their levies pass on Election Day. But school issues were more of a mixed bag in Franklin County. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 18:14:35 +0000 Alison Holm 25544 at http://wcbe.org Brown Defeats Mandel In Expensive Race http://wcbe.org/post/brown-defeats-mandel-expensive-race <P>Democrats will continue to control the U.S. senate next year, and one big reason is – the re-election victory of incumbent Ohio Democrat Sherrod Brown. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 18:07:23 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 25543 at http://wcbe.org Obama's Win Powered By Organization, If Not Ideas http://wcbe.org/post/obamas-win-powered-organization-if-not-ideas The euphoria of Barack Obama's supporters on election night four years ago was replaced Tuesday by relief, as the incumbent president won a second term over Republican Mitt Romney in an effort powered more by organization than by ideas.<p>To retain the White House, Obama managed to overcome the handicap of an economy just finding its footing after a devastating recession, and an unemployment rate higher than it's been under any president seeking re-election since Franklin Roosevelt during the Great Depression.<p>And in swing states that now serve as pickers of our presidents, Obama and his tea Wed, 07 Nov 2012 13:29:59 +0000 Liz Halloran 25526 at http://wcbe.org Obama's Win Powered By Organization, If Not Ideas Obama Wins With Help From Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/obama-wins-help-ohio <P>President Barack Obama won re-election to a second term last night. Ohioans elected Obama over Republican Mitt Romney by a two-point margin. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 12:17:26 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 25518 at http://wcbe.org World Reacts To Obama's Reelection http://wcbe.org/post/world-reacts-obamas-reelection Once the news of President Obama's reelection spread, the congratulations started raining in.<p>NPR's Philip Reeves reports that one of the first messages came from British Prime Minister David Cameron.<p>"Above all congratulations to Barack Obama," Cameron said during a trip to Jordan. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 11:59:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 25517 at http://wcbe.org World Reacts To Obama's Reelection For The Record: Final Numbers From Florida, Ohio, Virginia http://wcbe.org/post/record-final-numbers-florida-ohio-virginia It's refrain that will take you back to 2000: For NPR, Florida is still too close to call.<p>The big difference is that President Obama has enough of an electoral cushion that it would not affect the outcome of the elections.<p>Still, for record, here are the latest numbers from Florida, Ohio and Virginia, three states that gave pollsters headaches yesterday.<p><strong>We'll start with Florida: </strong><p>With nearly all precincts reporting, Obama is winning the state with 0.50 percent lead. The threshold to trigger an automatic recount? 0.50 percent. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 10:54:00 +0000 editor 25513 at http://wcbe.org For The Record: Final Numbers From Florida, Ohio, Virginia