Ohio Supreme Court http://wcbe.org en SUPCO Delays Traffic Camera Case http://wcbe.org/post/supco-delays-traffic-camera-case <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court has put a Cleveland traffic camera case on hold while the justices decide a motorist's challenge to Toledo's camera system. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 10:52:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59194 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Delays Traffic Camera Case Fight Over Elections Board Members May Go To Court http://wcbe.org/post/fight-over-elections-board-members-may-go-court <p><span lang="EN">The Lucas County Republican Party plans to take Republican Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted to court in a dispute over nominees for the county's troubled board of elections. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 16:27:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 58854 at http://wcbe.org Fight Over Elections Board Members May Go To Court High Court To Decide Case Involving Insurance Definitions http://wcbe.org/post/high-court-decide-case-involving-insurance-definitions <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The Ohio Supreme Court often decides cases that are unusual. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 17:12:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58640 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO To Hear Appeal Of Central Ohioan Freed From Prison In 1990 http://wcbe.org/post/supco-hear-appeal-central-ohioan-freed-prison-1990 <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court has accepted the appeal of a former death row inmate from the Columbus area who says he did not commit the two murders for which he was convicted. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 10:26:58 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 58435 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO To Hear Appeal Of Central Ohioan Freed From Prison In 1990 Ohio Justices: Payday Loans Unaffected By 2008 Law http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-justices-payday-loans-unaffected-2008-law <div>In a victory for payday lenders, the Ohio Supreme Court has ruled that a two-week loan to an Elyria man that imposed more than 235-percent interest is not prohibited under Ohio's mortgage lending laws.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:21:57 +0000 Associated Press 57558 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Supreme Court Rules On Standing And JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-supreme-court-rules-standing-and-jobsohio <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The Ohio Supreme Court’s decision on JobsOhio doesn’t say anything about whether the legislature’s creation of that public-private entity was constitutional.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 15:58:51 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57557 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Upholds Cleveland Curfew Law http://wcbe.org/post/supco-upholds-cleveland-curfew-law <p>The Ohio Supreme Court says the city of Cleveland has the right to enforce a curfew law for a downtown park. Thu, 29 May 2014 10:55:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56872 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO To Consider Public Records Cases http://wcbe.org/post/supco-consider-public-records-cases <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court will hear arguments this week on two cases involving media requests to law enforcement for public records. Tue, 27 May 2014 10:27:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56703 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO To Consider Public Records Cases SUPCO Backs State In Flooding Compensation Debate http://wcbe.org/post/supco-backs-state-flooding-compensation-debate <div>The Ohio Supreme Court is siding with the state in a case involving compensation for landowners for flooding losses near Ohio's largest inland lake.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 15:23:32 +0000 Associated Press 56391 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Blocks Duke From Passing Clean-Up Costs To Consumers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-blocks-duke-passing-clean-costs-consumers <p>The Ohio Supreme Court has temporarily blocked Duke Energy from charging customers for pollution clean-up at its deactivated manufactured-gas plants. Thu, 15 May 2014 12:16:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56041 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Blocks Duke From Passing Clean-Up Costs To Consumers Pro Medical Marijuana Rally Scheduled For This Weekend http://wcbe.org/post/pro-medical-marijuana-rally-scheduled-weekend <p><span lang="EN">Supporters of medical marijuana legalization will march in Cleveland this weekend as an effort to get a constitutional amendment before voters continues. Fri, 02 May 2014 16:27:36 +0000 Jim Letizia 55366 at http://wcbe.org State Supreme Court Weighs time Limits In Sex Abuse Cases http://wcbe.org/post/state-supreme-court-weighs-time-limits-sex-abuse-cases <p>The Ohio Supreme Court will decide how long a victim of childhood sexual abuse has to file a lawsuit, if the abuser is a state employee.&nbsp; Wed, 30 Apr 2014 23:11:22 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55274 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Strikes Down Child Enticement Law http://wcbe.org/post/supco-strikes-down-child-enticement-law <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme court says Ohio's child enticement law is unconstitutional because it criminalizes innocent behavior. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 12:04:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 52260 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Hears Natural Gas Drilling Case http://wcbe.org/post/supco-hears-natural-gas-drilling-case <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Supreme Court justices yesterday vigorously challenged attorneys over the power of state oil and gas drilling regulations to supersede local zoning laws&nbsp; in a case brought by the Akron suburb of Munroe Falls against Beck Energy. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 11:51:39 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51855 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Panel To Consider Suspension Of Athens County Sheriff http://wcbe.org/post/supco-panel-consider-suspension-athens-county-sheriff <p>The Ohio Supreme Court says a panel of three retired judges will consider whether to suspend Athens County Sheriff Pat Kelly, who pleaded not guilty to 25 counts in a corruption case. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 13:28:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51438 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Rejects Refunds For AEP Customers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-rejects-refunds-aep-customers <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court has rejected an appeal seeking 368 million dollars in refunds for customers of Columbus-based American Electric Power. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 17:27:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51164 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Landlords Have Duties To Tenant Guests http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-landlords-have-duties-tenant-guests <div>The Ohio Supreme Court has found that landlords must provide a safe environment to guests of their tenants.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 17:21:47 +0000 Associated Press 51013 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Reminds Judges About Jailing Poor People Who Fail To Pay Fines http://wcbe.org/post/supco-reminds-judges-about-jailing-poor-people-who-fail-pay-fines <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court is reminding judges conditions are limited under which they may jail an offender for failure to pay fines. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:32:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50679 at http://wcbe.org Former Attorney General Returns To Supreme Court In Foreclosure Case http://wcbe.org/post/former-attorney-general-returns-supreme-court-foreclosure-case <p>Former Ohio Attorney General Marc Dann&nbsp;went before the Ohio Supreme Court this week. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:43:14 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 49269 at http://wcbe.org Disgraced Former AG Prepares To Return To Ohio State Supreme Court http://wcbe.org/post/disgraced-former-ag-prepares-return-ohio-state-supreme-court <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Former Attorney General Marc Dann is preparing to argue his first case before the Ohio Supreme Court since being forced from office amid a sexual harassment scandal, convicted of an ethics violation and temporarily stripped of his law license. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 00:24:23 +0000 Associated Press 49147 at http://wcbe.org