Ohio Supreme Court http://wcbe.org en SUPCO Strikes Down Child Enticement Law http://wcbe.org/post/supco-strikes-down-child-enticement-law <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme court says Ohio's child enticement law is unconstitutional because it criminalizes innocent behavior. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 12:04:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 52260 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Hears Natural Gas Drilling Case http://wcbe.org/post/supco-hears-natural-gas-drilling-case <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Supreme Court justices yesterday vigorously challenged attorneys over the power of state oil and gas drilling regulations to supersede local zoning laws&nbsp; in a case brought by the Akron suburb of Munroe Falls against Beck Energy. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 11:51:39 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51855 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Panel To Consider Suspension Of Athens County Sheriff http://wcbe.org/post/supco-panel-consider-suspension-athens-county-sheriff <p>The Ohio Supreme Court says a panel of three retired judges will consider whether to suspend Athens County Sheriff Pat Kelly, who pleaded not guilty to 25 counts in a corruption case. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 13:28:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51438 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Rejects Refunds For AEP Customers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-rejects-refunds-aep-customers <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court has rejected an appeal seeking 368 million dollars in refunds for customers of Columbus-based American Electric Power. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 17:27:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51164 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Landlords Have Duties To Tenant Guests http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-landlords-have-duties-tenant-guests <div>The Ohio Supreme Court has found that landlords must provide a safe environment to guests of their tenants.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 17:21:47 +0000 Associated Press 51013 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Reminds Judges About Jailing Poor People Who Fail To Pay Fines http://wcbe.org/post/supco-reminds-judges-about-jailing-poor-people-who-fail-pay-fines <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court is reminding judges conditions are limited under which they may jail an offender for failure to pay fines. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:32:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50679 at http://wcbe.org Former Attorney General Returns To Supreme Court In Foreclosure Case http://wcbe.org/post/former-attorney-general-returns-supreme-court-foreclosure-case <p>Former Ohio Attorney General Marc Dann&nbsp;went before the Ohio Supreme Court this week. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:43:14 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 49269 at http://wcbe.org Disgraced Former AG Prepares To Return To Ohio State Supreme Court http://wcbe.org/post/disgraced-former-ag-prepares-return-ohio-state-supreme-court <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Former Attorney General Marc Dann is preparing to argue his first case before the Ohio Supreme Court since being forced from office amid a sexual harassment scandal, convicted of an ethics violation and temporarily stripped of his law license. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 00:24:23 +0000 Associated Press 49147 at http://wcbe.org Bar Exam For Six-Year Students Under Consideration http://wcbe.org/post/bar-exam-six-year-students-under-consideration <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Supreme Court is <a href="http://www.courtnewsohio.gov/happening/2013/acceleratedDegree_122313.asp#at_pco=tcb-1.0&amp;at_tot=5&amp;at_ab=-&amp;at_pos=0">accepting public comment</a> on a possible rule change that could let students become lawyers after six years of college instead of seven. Mon, 30 Dec 2013 16:40:38 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 48820 at http://wcbe.org Ruling Sets Future For Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/ruling-sets-future-medicaid-expansion <p>Now that the Ohio Supreme Court has made a decision on Medicaid expansion, it appears it’s here to stay - at least for now. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:10:34 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48549 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Approves North Central Ohio Wind Farm Project http://wcbe.org/post/supco-approves-north-central-ohio-wind-farm-project-0 <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Supreme Court has cleared the way for construction to begin soon on a wind farm in Crawford and Richland counties. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 11:44:33 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 48342 at http://wcbe.org Letson Enters Supreme Court Race http://wcbe.org/post/letson-enters-supreme-court-race <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio Democrats have added another name to the growing list of candidates making a run for statewide office next year. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 15:17:47 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48285 at http://wcbe.org Freshwater Asks SUPCO To Reconsider http://wcbe.org/post/freshwater-asks-supco-reconsider <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Mount Vernon Middle School science instructor who refused to remove religious materials from his classroom wants the Ohio Supreme Court to reconsider its decision upholding his dismissal. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:04:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 47282 at http://wcbe.org State Defends Controlling Board Decision On Medicaid Expansion To Ohio Supreme Court http://wcbe.org/post/state-defends-controlling-board-decision-medicaid-expansion-ohio-supreme-court <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">State attorneys say an Ohio legislative panel acted consistently with state law and standard practice when it approved funding an expansion of the Medicaid program last month. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 01:57:18 +0000 Associated Press 47099 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Says Former Judge Deserves Stronger Punishment http://wcbe.org/post/supco-says-former-judge-deserves-stronger-punishment <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Supreme Court today rejected a recommended six-month suspension of the law license of former Franklin County Environmental Court Judge Harland Hale. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 17:42:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 46578 at http://wcbe.org Case Could Have Implications For Snowbirds http://wcbe.org/post/case-could-have-implications-snowbirds <p>As the weather gets colder, there are more than a few Ohioans who are right now planning their annual extended stays in Florida or other warm climates. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 17:51:51 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 46281 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Supreme Court Hears Preliminary Case of JobsOhio Constitutionality http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-supreme-court-hears-preliminary-case-jobsohio-constitutionality <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Supreme Court heard arguments Wednesday over who may file a lawsuit to settle the question of whether the state's job creation entity, JobsOhio, is constitutional. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 02:17:58 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 46059 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Supreme Court Hears Preliminary Case of JobsOhio Constitutionality Ohio Supreme Court Takes Up Child "Enticement" Law http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-supreme-court-takes-child-enticement-law <p>Ohio law could make it a crime for you to offer money to a child to rake your lawn. And that&rsquo;s troubling Ohio&rsquo;s Supreme Court justices.&nbsp; Wed, 09 Oct 2013 23:26:45 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 44588 at http://wcbe.org Panel Recommends No Death Penalty For Mentally Ill Offenders http://wcbe.org/post/panel-recommends-no-death-penalty-mentally-ill-offenders <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">An Ohio Supreme Court committee examining capital punishment wants lawmakers to debate whether the death penalty should be off the table for offenders with serious mental illness. Fri, 27 Sep 2013 10:42:30 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43882 at http://wcbe.org Mayor's Court Cases Decline http://wcbe.org/post/mayors-court-cases-decline <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The number of traffic and misdemeanor cases being heard in mayor's courts is at a new low. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 10:44:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42628 at http://wcbe.org