Columbus Division of Fire http://wcbe.org en Nature Of Columbus Fire Truck Safety Problem Unclear http://wcbe.org/post/nature-columbus-fire-truck-safety-problem-unclear <p>Columbus Division of Fire officials are pulling a half-dozen brand new fire trucks off the streets. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 11:04:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 60050 at http://wcbe.org Nature Of Columbus Fire Truck Safety Problem Unclear Man Believed To Have Drowned At Local Quarry http://wcbe.org/post/man-believed-have-drowned-local-quarry <p><span lang="EN">Columbus fire division teams will resume their search today for a man who is&nbsp;believed to have drowned&nbsp;at a quarry on the South side yesterday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 10:16:19 +0000 Jim Letizia 58508 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Fire Official Demoted For His Role In Sex Scandal http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-fire-official-demoted-his-role-sex-scandal <p><span lang="EN">Columbus safety director Mitch Brown has demoted to lieutenant a Columbus fire battalion chief for his role in covering up a firehouse sex scandal. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 16:23:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 57699 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Fire Official Demoted For His Role In Sex Scandal Arson Suspected In Franklinton House Fire http://wcbe.org/post/arson-suspected-franklinton-house-fire <p><span lang="EN">Columbus fire investigators suspect arson is the cause of a vacant house fire early this morning in Franklinton. Tue, 13 May 2014 16:35:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 55930 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Authorities Identify Man Killed In Weekend House Fire http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-authorities-identify-man-killed-weekend-house-fire <p><span lang="EN">Columbus fire officials have identified the man killed in a house fire on Sunday on the Southeast side. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 10:57:18 +0000 Jim Letizia 54340 at http://wcbe.org Gas Leak Forces School Evacuation http://wcbe.org/post/gas-leak-forces-school-evacuation <p><span lang="EN">Columbus fire officials say classes will resume today at Weinland Park Elementary School after a natural gas leak yesterday forced its evacuation. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 11:31:35 +0000 Jim Letizia 53619 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Firefighter Injured In House Fire http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-firefighter-injured-house-fire <p><span lang="EN">Columbus fire officials say one firefighter sustained minor injuries early this morning when the ceiling of a North side home that was on on fire fell on top of him. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:24:40 +0000 Jim Letizia 53370 at http://wcbe.org Suspension Recommended For Second CDF Official Implicated In Sexual Misconduct Case http://wcbe.org/post/suspension-recommended-second-cdf-official-implicated-sexual-misconduct-case <p><span lang="EN">A Columbus Fire Battalion Chief is facing discipline for his role in a firehouse sex scandal. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 12:41:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 51725 at http://wcbe.org Second CDF Official Implicated In Sexual Misconduct Case http://wcbe.org/post/second-cdf-official-implicated-sexual-misconduct-case <p><span lang="EN">A&nbsp;Columbus fire official is facing discipline for failing to report a firefighter's on-duty sexual misconduct. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 12:03:15 +0000 Jim Letizia 50302 at http://wcbe.org House Dwellers Found With Carbon Monoxide Poisoning http://wcbe.org/post/house-dwellers-found-carbon-monoxide-poisoning <p><span lang="EN">Columbus firefighters say eight people living in a south side home have been hospitalized for carbon monoxide poisoning. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 11:57:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 50301 at http://wcbe.org Termination Recommended For Columbus Firefighter Accused Of Misconduct http://wcbe.org/post/termination-recommended-columbus-firefighter-accused-misconduct <p><span lang="EN">Termination has been recommended for a Columbus firefighter accused of engaging in sexual misconduct while on duty. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 11:55:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 49925 at http://wcbe.org Fire Official Reassigned Amid Sexual Misconduct Probe http://wcbe.org/post/fire-official-reassigned-amid-sexual-misconduct-probe <p><span lang="EN">Assistant Columbus Fire Chief David Whiting has been reassigned to the fire prevention bureau. Fri, 10 Jan 2014 11:29:15 +0000 Jim Letizia 49340 at http://wcbe.org Fire Damages West Side Home http://wcbe.org/post/fire-damages-west-side-home <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus fire officials are searching for the cause of an early morning blaze at a West side home. Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:32:35 +0000 Jim Letizia 48679 at http://wcbe.org No One Hurt In Paint Factory Fire http://wcbe.org/post/no-one-hurt-paint-factory-fire <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus fire officials say a faulty light bulb is to blame for a fire at a North side paint factory yesterday. Thu, 26 Dec 2013 12:16:44 +0000 Jim Letizia 48663 at http://wcbe.org Union Appeals Fire Investigator's Suspension http://wcbe.org/post/union-appeals-fire-investigators-suspension <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The union representing a Columbus arson investigator is appealing the 80 hour suspension he served last month for ordering a motorist out of a car at gunpoint and putting him in handcuffs. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 15:43:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 42990 at http://wcbe.org Test Of Paramedic Plan Delayed http://wcbe.org/post/test-paramedic-plan-delayed <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus fire officials are holding off on a test of a new staffing plan after hearing complaints from the firefighters' union. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 16:23:36 +0000 Jim Letizia 42664 at http://wcbe.org Tanker Car Derails http://wcbe.org/post/tanker-car-derails <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>No injuries are reported out of a railroad tanker car derailment yesterday on the South side. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 10:57:22 +0000 Jim Letizia 41830 at http://wcbe.org Firefighters Oppose Plan To Cut Paramedics http://wcbe.org/post/firefighters-oppose-plan-cut-paramedics <P>The Columbus firefighters' union is protesting a city plan to cut the number of paramedics. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:36:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 41753 at http://wcbe.org Boy Burned In Fire He Set http://wcbe.org/post/boy-burned-fire-he-set <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus fire officials say a 12-year-old boy was critically burned in a house fire he started last night. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 10:23:36 +0000 Jim Letizia 40720 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Firefighter Accused Of Improper Conduct http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-firefighter-accused-improper-conduct <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A Columbus firefighter is accused of having sex at his fire station with an 18-year-old woman over a period of nearly two years. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 10:54:57 +0000 Jim Letizia 39519 at http://wcbe.org