Great Lakes http://wcbe.org en Great Lakes Ice Cover Now Gone http://wcbe.org/post/great-lakes-ice-cover-now-gone <p><span lang="EN">The Great Lakes are now ice free. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 14:41:09 +0000 Jim Letizia 57697 at http://wcbe.org Great Lakes Ice Cover Now Gone Senators Seek $30M For Great Lakes Infrastructure http://wcbe.org/post/senators-seek-30m-great-lakes-infrastructure <div>A group of U.S. senators is asking the Army Corps of Engineers to pump more money into maintaining harbors in the Great Lakes region, which has a backlog of projects.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 22:43:14 +0000 Associated Press 50797 at http://wcbe.org New Ballast Water Requirements http://wcbe.org/post/new-ballast-water-requirements <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. EPA has issued new requirements for cleansing ballast water dumped from ships, which scientists believe has brought invasive species that damage ecosystems and cost the economy billions of dollars. Fri, 29 Mar 2013 16:24:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 33158 at http://wcbe.org Feds Release Report On Asian Carp DNA http://wcbe.org/post/feds-release-report-asian-carp-dna <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A report by three federal agencies shows live Asian carp do not have to be present for their DNA to turn up in the environment. Thu, 21 Feb 2013 11:52:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31044 at http://wcbe.org Rail Loop May Help Great Lakes Shipping http://wcbe.org/post/rail-loop-may-help-great-lakes-shipping <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A new, 4.5 million dollar rail loop linking the Port of Cleveland with main </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>lines nearby is expected to enable faster, more efficient movement of cargo </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>from the site. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 17:20:17 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28451 at http://wcbe.org Water Levels Drop In Two Great Lakes http://wcbe.org/post/water-levels-drop-two-great-lakes <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers says preliminary figures show Lakes Michigan </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>and Huron reached record low water levels in December. Thu, 03 Jan 2013 17:16:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28388 at http://wcbe.org Romney Rep. Is A No-Show At Great Lakes Meeting http://wcbe.org/post/romney-rep-no-show-great-lakes-meeting <p>Republican Mitt Romney's presidential campaign did not send a representative to a forum on Great Lakes issues today. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 16:22:34 +0000 Jim Letizia 22628 at http://wcbe.org Ohio's beaches among most polluted in country http://wcbe.org/post/ohios-beaches-among-most-polluted-country <p>A new water&nbsp;quality report shows Ohio&#39;s beaches are&nbsp;among the most polluted in the&nbsp;Great Lakes Region -- which is one of the worst in the nation.&nbsp; Alison Holm has more</p><p> Thu, 28 Jun 2012 00:51:35 +0000 Alison Holm 17932 at http://wcbe.org