State Auditor David Yost http://wcbe.org en State Auditor Slams CCS in Long-Awaited Data-Scrubbing Report http://wcbe.org/post/state-auditor-slams-ccs-long-awaited-data-scrubbing-report <p>In his official report on the data scrubbing scandal in Columbus City Schools, State auditor David Yost says the district deliberately - and possibly criminally - changed grades, erased absences, and manipulated enrollment figures in order to make the district look better.&nbsp; Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:12:29 +0000 Alison Holm 50209 at http://wcbe.org State Auditor Slams CCS in Long-Awaited Data-Scrubbing Report Yost To Release CCS Data Scrubbing Investigative Report Today http://wcbe.org/post/yost-release-ccs-data-scrubbing-investigative-report-today <p><span lang="EN">Later this morning, State Auditor David Yost is scheduled to release the findings of his 18-month investigation into attendance data fixing in the Columbus City Schools. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:52:07 +0000 Alison Holm 50178 at http://wcbe.org Yost To Release CCS Data Scrubbing Investigative Report Today CCS To Launch Whistleblower Hotline http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-launch-whistleblower-hotline <p><span lang="EN">The Columbus City Schools will introduce a hotline by the first of March, allowing employees to anonymously report wrongdoing by phone or online. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 13:58:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49999 at http://wcbe.org ODE Begins Issuing Reports On Data Scrubbing Investigations http://wcbe.org/post/ode-begins-issuing-reports-data-scrubbing-investigations <p><span lang="EN">Ohio education officials have confirmed seven of eight school districts identified by the state auditor improperly reported attendance data or engaged in other questionable practices. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 22:51:16 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 49486 at http://wcbe.org State Auditor Calls 'Count Week' An Outdated Way To Fund Schools http://wcbe.org/post/state-auditor-calls-count-week-outdated-way-fund-schools <p>Around the state, public schools are counting heads this week&nbsp; to &nbsp;help determine how much state funding districts will receive. Wed, 09 Oct 2013 23:18:59 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 44586 at http://wcbe.org Clerk Of Courts Freed On Bond Amid Theft In Office Charge http://wcbe.org/post/clerk-courts-freed-bond-amid-theft-office-charge <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Fairfield County&#39;s Clerk of Courts and her husband are free on bond after appearing in court yesterday. Thu, 03 Oct 2013 10:51:45 +0000 Jim Letizia 44216 at http://wcbe.org Yost Finds Sunshine Law Compliance Issues http://wcbe.org/post/yost-finds-sunshine-law-compliance-issues <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State Auditor David Yost says a test of 20 counties and cities shows 40 percent are not fully following Ohio’s Sunshine Law. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 16:00:58 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 43077 at http://wcbe.org Carney To Challenge Yost http://wcbe.org/post/carney-challenge-yost <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Democratic State Representative John Carney is expected today to formally announce his plans to challenge Republican State Auditor David Yost in 2014. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 11:03:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42814 at http://wcbe.org State Bills CCS For Data Probe http://wcbe.org/post/state-bills-ccs-data-probe <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Taxpayers are being asked to cover the costs of the investigation of the Columbus City Schools' data rigging scandal. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 10:44:39 +0000 Jim Letizia 42247 at http://wcbe.org Yost Praises CCS Internal Auditor http://wcbe.org/post/yost-praises-ccs-internal-auditor <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State Auditor David Yost says data scrubbing in the Columbus City Schools painted a false picture of district accomplishments, and may have cheated some students out of the chance for charter school vouchers or federally subsidized tutoring. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 12:00:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 36902 at http://wcbe.org Yost Makes First Public Comments Since Legislature Blocked His Authority To Audit JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/yost-makes-first-public-comments-legislature-blocked-his-authority-audit-jobsohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State Auditor David Yost yesterday made his first public comments about the newly-passed measure that blocks his authority to audit JobsOhio. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 11:16:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 36889 at http://wcbe.org Yost Gets Backing Of Senate Democrats http://wcbe.org/post/yost-gets-backing-senate-democrats <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A day after a measure blocking the Republican State Auditor from auditing Governor John Kasich's private job creation entity JobsOhio passed the Ohio House, Auditor David Yost got some support from members of the opposition party in the Senate. Fri, 31 May 2013 11:28:46 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 36698 at http://wcbe.org State Approves Enrollment Data Fixes http://wcbe.org/post/state-approves-enrollment-data-fixes <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio schools that reportedly had errors in certain enrollment data have gotten state approval of plans to fix the issues. Tue, 28 May 2013 10:31:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 36428 at http://wcbe.org Yost Proposes ODOT Cost Cutting Measures http://wcbe.org/post/yost-proposes-odot-cost-cutting-measures <P>Cutting its annual mowing schedule from four to three times could save the Ohio Department of Transportation millions, according to a study by State Auditor Dave Yost. Thu, 09 May 2013 10:17:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 35300 at http://wcbe.org Cupp's Job Raising Ethical Questions http://wcbe.org/post/cupps-job-raising-ethical-questions <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Former Republican Ohio Supreme Court Justice Robert Cupp's new job is raising ethical issues in the legal battle over GOP Governor John Kasich's nonprofit job-creation agency JobsOhio. Tue, 07 May 2013 10:28:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 35152 at http://wcbe.org Cops Seize CCS Records http://wcbe.org/post/cops-seize-ccs-records <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus Police officers this morning seized records wanted by the state auditor as part of his probe of the Columbus City Schools' attendance data tampering scandal, and his probe of alleged grade changing at Linden-McKinley High School. Thu, 02 May 2013 14:30:27 +0000 Jim Letizia 34911 at http://wcbe.org Update: State Audit Finds Faults In Columbus City Schools http://wcbe.org/post/update-state-audit-finds-faults-columbus-city-schools <P>Ohio’s Auditor has released an audit on the Columbus City School district and the findings are not good news. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 23:35:24 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 33468 at http://wcbe.org Yost Releases CCS Audit http://wcbe.org/post/yost-releases-ccs-audit <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The annual state audit of the Columbus City Schools is a mix of good and bad news. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 10:28:35 +0000 Jim Letizia 33414 at http://wcbe.org JobsOhio Complies With Subpoena http://wcbe.org/post/jobsohio-complies-subpoena <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio's private non-profit job creation agency says it complied with the subpoena issued by State Auditor David Yost to turn over its private financial records. Tue, 19 Mar 2013 16:22:46 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 32552 at http://wcbe.org Yost Wants To Audit JobsOhio http://wcbe.org/post/yost-wants-audit-jobsohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Many Democrats in the state legislature have been raising questions about public money put into the state's private non profit jobs development corporation, JobsOhio. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 12:47:48 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 31967 at http://wcbe.org