News http://wcbe.org en Task Force To Examine OSU Marching Band Culture http://wcbe.org/post/task-force-examine-osu-marching-band-culture <p>Ohio State University is expected to announce today it will form a task force to help bring changes after the firing of marching band director Jon Waters amid allegations he ignored rampant sexual harassment. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:54:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60247 at http://wcbe.org Task Force To Examine OSU Marching Band Culture Lawmakers To Get Update On Prison Food Contractor Wednesday http://wcbe.org/post/lawmakers-get-update-prison-food-contractor-wednesday <p>A legislative committee is getting updates on complaints facing the private food vendor that won the contract to feed Ohio inmates. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:52:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60246 at http://wcbe.org Lawmakers To Get Update On Prison Food Contractor Wednesday Algae Warnings At East Fork Lake Lifted http://wcbe.org/post/algae-warnings-east-fork-lake-lifted <p>The Ohio Department of Natural Resources has lifted a public health advisory issued last month for swimmers at East Fork Lake in Clermont County.&nbsp; Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:46:27 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60245 at http://wcbe.org Algae Warnings At East Fork Lake Lifted No Asian Carp Found In Muskingum River http://wcbe.org/post/no-asian-carp-found-muskingum-river <p>The Ohio Department of Natural Resources and the U.S Fish and Wildlife Service say a search of three Ohio rivers found no invasive silver or bighead Asian carp. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 10:43:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60244 at http://wcbe.org No Asian Carp Found In Muskingum River 10 Years For Former Officer In Child Porn Case http://wcbe.org/post/10-years-former-officer-child-porn-case <p>A former Columbus police officer has been sentenced to 10 years in prison after pleading guilty in a child pornography case in which investigators said they uncovered thousands of images and hundreds of videos on two external hard drives. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:49:02 +0000 Associated Press 60178 at http://wcbe.org 10 Years For Former Officer In Child Porn Case Fired Ohio State Band Director Vows To Clear Name http://wcbe.org/post/fired-ohio-state-band-director-vows-clear-name <p>An attorney says the fired director of Ohio State University's marching band has become a scapegoat for behavior that occurred before his leadership and he'll fight to clear his name. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:42:39 +0000 Associated Press 60177 at http://wcbe.org Fired Ohio State Band Director Vows To Clear Name Report Tackles Native-American Mascots http://wcbe.org/post/report-tackles-native-american-mascots <p>A report by a progressive-leaning research institute in Washington says all schools and professional teams around the country should retire any sports mascots that adversely affect the well-being of Native Americans. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:39:55 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 60176 at http://wcbe.org Report Tackles Native-American Mascots Fewer Central Ohio Mortgages "Under Water" http://wcbe.org/post/fewer-central-ohio-mortgages-under-water <p>The mortgage listing service RealtyTrac says 21 percent of central Ohio homeowners owe at least 25 percent more on their mortgages than the value of the homes. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 12:03:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 60141 at http://wcbe.org Fewer Central Ohio Mortgages "Under Water" Strickland: Stimulus Money Helped Ohio's Economy http://wcbe.org/post/strickland-stimulus-money-helped-ohios-economy <p>Many economic indicators show Ohio's economy has recovered significantly since the Great Recession. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:57:54 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 60140 at http://wcbe.org Strickland: Stimulus Money Helped Ohio's Economy COTA Tracking System Not Working http://wcbe.org/post/cota-tracking-system-not-working <p>Plans to track Central Ohio Transit Authority buses online are on hold again.&nbsp; Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:48:39 +0000 Jim Letizia 60139 at http://wcbe.org COTA Tracking System Not Working Prosecutors Want Ahmad Extradition To Begin http://wcbe.org/post/prosecutors-want-ahmad-extradition-begin <p>Federal prosecutors are asking a judge to start the process of extraditing the former deputy state treasurer from Pakistan. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:46:35 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60138 at http://wcbe.org Prosecutors Want Ahmad Extradition To Begin Four Licking County Jail Guards Resign http://wcbe.org/post/four-licking-county-jail-guards-resign <p>Licking County Sheriff Randy Thorp says four jail guards have resigned following an internal investigation into their performance. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:43:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 60137 at http://wcbe.org Four Licking County Jail Guards Resign Case Of Slain Local Couple Ruled Murder-Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/case-slain-local-couple-ruled-murder-suicide <p>Columbus police say the case of a couple found dead in their South Side home on Tuesday is a murder-suicide. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:33:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 60130 at http://wcbe.org Case Of Slain Local Couple Ruled Murder-Suicide Judges Dismiss Columbian Lawsuit Against Chiquita http://wcbe.org/post/judges-dismiss-columbian-lawsuit-against-chiquita <p>A three-judge panel of the 11th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals has dismissed claims against Cincinnati-based produce giant Chiquita Brands International made by the families of thousands of Colombians killed during a civil war. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:28:08 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60129 at http://wcbe.org Judges Dismiss Columbian Lawsuit Against Chiquita Local Booster Club Treasurer Charged With Stealing Club Money http://wcbe.org/post/local-booster-club-treasurer-charged-stealing-club-money <p>The former treasurer of the Watkins Memorial High School Band Boosters club in Pataskala has been charged with stealing 67 thousand dollars from the group. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:26:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 60128 at http://wcbe.org Local Booster Club Treasurer Charged With Stealing Club Money VPOTUS Talks Infrastructure In Cincinnati http://wcbe.org/post/vpotus-talks-infrastructure-cincinnati <p>Vice President Joe Biden told the National Urban League Conference in Cincinnati yesterday the Obama administration is committed to job training and infrastructure repair. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:23:17 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 60127 at http://wcbe.org VPOTUS Talks Infrastructure In Cincinnati BWC Settles Lawsuit Concerning Premium Overcharges http://wcbe.org/post/bwc-settles-lawsuit-concerning-premium-overcharges <p>A Cuyahoga County judge has approved the Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation settlement of a class-action lawsuit claiming it overcharged employers hundreds of millions of dollars over several years. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:16:58 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 60126 at http://wcbe.org BWC Settles Lawsuit Concerning Premium Overcharges Ohioans Getting Refunds Under ACA Provision http://wcbe.org/post/ohioans-getting-refunds-under-aca-provision <p>The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services estimates 35 thousand Ohioans will get more than 1.2 million dollars in refunds from insurance companies because of a provision in the Affordable Care Act. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:14:00 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 60125 at http://wcbe.org Ohioans Getting Refunds Under ACA Provision Kasich Standing By Ross Amid Dayton Charter School Problems http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-standing-ross-amid-dayton-charter-school-problems <p>Republican Ohio Governor John Kasich is standing by the head of the state education department in the wake of the controversy surrounding a Dayton charter school. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:05:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 60124 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Standing By Ross Amid Dayton Charter School Problems Second Suspect In Slavery Case Sentenced http://wcbe.org/post/second-suspect-slavery-case-sentenced <p>An Ashland woman has been sentenced to 32 years in federal prison for enslaving a mentally disabled woman and her young daughter for two years using threats and intimidation. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 10:55:48 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 60123 at http://wcbe.org Second Suspect In Slavery Case Sentenced