85 Counties Now Federal Disaster Areas

Sep 6, 2012

After a summer of heat, drought, and other weather-related problems, the federal government has declared 85 of Ohio's 88 counties disaster areas.

It gives eligible farmers access to low-interest loans for crop losses, relief payments for non-insurable losses and permission to cut hay for livestock from acreage otherwise set aside for conservation.