AEP Settles With Feds, Eight States

Feb 26, 2013

Columbus-based American Electric Power will stop burning coal at two power plants in Ohio and Indiana by the end of 2015 under a legal settlement reached with the U.S. EPA, eight states and several environmental groups.

In exchange, AEP changed the conditions of an earlier court settlement and will use equipment at another Indiana power plant that will not reduce sulfur dioxide emissions as much.