Mohr appoints three new parole board members

Jul 6, 2012

State prisons director Gary Mohr has added three members to the Ohio parole board after removing two others with little explanation. 

The newest members are Andre Imbrogno, a former Department of Rehabilitation and Correction attorney; Marc Houk, a former warden at several prisons; and Ron Nelson, a longtime DRC administrator. Democratic State Representative Tracy Maxwell Heard of Columbus last week said the removals of Jose Torres and former Columbus Police officer Cathy Collins-Taylor were politically motivated. Both were appointed by former Democratic Governor Ted Strickland. A prisons department spokesperson says Mohr selects career-oriented corrections professionals committed to his reform efforts.