WCBE 90.5 FM http://wcbe.org en Weeknight Kitchen: Chicken Larb http://wcbe.org/post/weeknight-kitchen-chicken-larb <p>We're going to wake you up this week with David Joachim's bright and simple take on Southeast Asia's minced-meat salad: Chicken Larb.</p><p> Thu, 05 Mar 2015 17:00:00 +0000 David Joachim 59227 at http://wcbe.org Weeknight Kitchen: Chicken Larb Samsung Faces Allegation That A Chinese Supplier Used Child Labor http://wcbe.org/post/samsung-faces-allegation-chinese-supplier-used-child-labor One of electronics giant Samsung's suppliers in China used child labor to meet the South Korean company's production targets, a labor watchdog <a href="http://chinalaborwatch.org/pdf/2014.07.10_Shinyang_Electronics_report__FINAL.pdf">said in a report</a> Thursday.<p>New York-based China Labor Watch says the Shinyang Electronics factory in Dongguan, China, hired child labor and underage student workers, altering "the strictness of hiring practices in order to adapt to Samsung's demands."<p>"These minors will usually only work for a period of three to six months, toiling for 11 hours every day w Thu, 10 Jul 2014 17:10:00 +0000 Krishnadev Calamur 59239 at http://wcbe.org Samsung Faces Allegation That A Chinese Supplier Used Child Labor Brandi Carlile: Live from Studio A REPLAY http://wcbe.org/post/brandi-carlile-live-studio-replay <p>Brandi Carlile performed live from WCBE's Studio A on November&nbsp;15th, 2005! Check out the amazing performance and interview again! Enjoy!</p><p></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 17:07:00 +0000 Music Intern 54820 at http://wcbe.org In Central America, Attempts To Cross U.S. Border Like 'Feeding Frenzy' http://wcbe.org/post/central-america-attempts-cross-us-border-feeding-frenzy Thousands of Central American children are crossing the border and ending up in detention facilities. Host Michel Martin learns more about why so many children are fleeing Central America. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:39:00 +0000 editor 59242 at http://wcbe.org Nigeria Schoolgirls Still Missing, President Seems Detached http://wcbe.org/post/nigeria-schoolgirls-still-missing-president-seems-detached More than 60 women and girls escaped Islamic extremists in northern Nigeria this week. Host Michel Martin catches up on the latest news from the country with the BBC's Tomi Oladipo. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:39:00 +0000 editor 59241 at http://wcbe.org Twitter Turns World Cup Into A 'Global Sports Bar' http://wcbe.org/post/twitter-turns-world-cup-global-sports-bar The Brazil vs. Germany World Cup semifinal created more activity on Twitter than any other sporting event had. Host Michel Martin learns about how social media has changed the tournament experience. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:39:00 +0000 editor 59240 at http://wcbe.org A Snapshot Of Indonesia: The Country Behind The Election http://wcbe.org/post/snapshot-indonesia-country-behind-election Following a fierce presidential battle in Indonesia, both candidates — Jakarta Governor Joko "Jokowi" Widodo and his rival, former General Prabowo Subianto — are <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/09/330157448/rivals-claim-victory-in-indonesian-presidential-election">declaring</a> victory. Official results won't come out for another two weeks.<p>The vote marks the country's third direct presidential election since Suharto, Indonesia's last dictator, was ousted in 1998. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:29:00 +0000 Linda Poon 59236 at http://wcbe.org Number Of Registered Democrats In W.Va. Drops To Historic Low http://wcbe.org/post/number-registered-democrats-wva-drops-historic-low Republicans in West Virginia are touting an accomplishment this week that has historical significance for the state. For the first time in more than 80 years, Democratic voter registration has dropped to below 50 percent.<p>Numbers from the West Virginia secretary of state's office show it's true — that number has dropped, but just barely.<p>The number of registered Democrats in West Virginia as of June 30 stands at 612,288. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 16:27:00 +0000 editor 59237 at http://wcbe.org Number Of Registered Democrats In W.Va. Drops To Historic Low CCS Treasurer Search Down To Two Candidates http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-treasurer-search-down-two-candidates <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools officials have chosen two finalists from a pool of 17 people who applied to become the district's treasurer. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:51:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 59232 at http://wcbe.org CCS Treasurer Search Down To Two Candidates Tanker Truck Overturns In Fairfield County http://wcbe.org/post/tanker-truck-overturns-fairfield-county <p><span lang="EN">Fairfield County Sheriff's deputies say the driver of a tanker truck was injured this morning when his vehicle overturned near the intersection of state Route 188 and Royalton Road in Hocking Township. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:46:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 59231 at http://wcbe.org HBO Scores Big In Emmy Nominations http://wcbe.org/post/hbo-scores-big-emmy-nominations David Greene talks to TV Guide magazine executive editor Michael Schneider about Thursday's announcement of the 66th Emmy Award nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:39:00 +0000 editor 59235 at http://wcbe.org HBO And 'Game Of Thrones' Haul In The Most Emmy Nominations http://wcbe.org/post/hbo-and-game-thrones-haul-most-emmy-nominations Cable network HBO has received 99 nominations for the 2014 Emmy Awards, running its streak as the network with the most Emmy nods to 14 years. HBO's <em>Game of Thrones</em> got 19 nominations, one ahead of the FX miniseries <em>Fargo</em>.<p>NPR's Neda Ulaby reports for our Newscast unit:<p><blockquote><p>"HBO also got nominated for its movie <em>The Normal Heart</em>, for its drama <em>True Detective</em> and, in a surprise, for its comedy <em>Silicon Valley</em>.<p>"Other winners included Netflix, with 31 nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:35:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59233 at http://wcbe.org HBO And 'Game Of Thrones' Haul In The Most Emmy Nominations Germany Asks Top U.S. Spy In Country To Leave http://wcbe.org/post/germany-asks-top-us-spy-country-leave <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/126936784/germany">Germany</a> has asked the top American spy in the country to leave, in the wake of two cases of espionage allegedly involving the U.S. and amid the fallout from the surveillance of Germans by the National Security Agency.<p>"The representative of the U.S. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:31:00 +0000 editor 59234 at http://wcbe.org Singapore Anti-Gambling Council Loses Big On World Cup Ad http://wcbe.org/post/singapore-anti-gambling-council-loses-big-world-cup-ad <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1bs9luXZP4</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:58:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 59230 at http://wcbe.org Singapore Anti-Gambling Council Loses Big On World Cup Ad Israel's Netanyahu Says No Cease-Fire In Gaza http://wcbe.org/post/no-ceasefire-gaza-netanyahu-says-un-calls-calm There are no plans to discuss a cease-fire with Hamas, says Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who told Israeli lawmakers today that "it's not even on the agenda."<p>Meanwhile, U.N. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 14:28:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59220 at http://wcbe.org Israel's Netanyahu Says No Cease-Fire In Gaza Weeknight Kitchen: Blueberry Tamari Greens Bowl http://wcbe.org/post/weeknight-kitchen-blueberry-tamari-greens-bowl <p>This unexpectedly delicious combination of blueberries, cucumbers, and savory tamari dressing is habit forming. Served on spinach it is dandy, but if you can find delicate tatsoi (a Japanese green akin to tender bok choy) use that instead!&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:59:33 +0000 Terry Hope Romero 59214 at http://wcbe.org Weeknight Kitchen: Blueberry Tamari Greens Bowl Talking to Your Aging Parents About Their Finances http://wcbe.org/post/talking-your-aging-parents-about-their-finances <div>As people age, their financial needs change and they may need advice. Here's a useful checklist of issues to consider in working with aging family members regarding financial decisions, provided by Commonwealth Financial Network.<br /><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Each day between 2011 and 2030, 10,000 baby boomers will celebrate their </span>65th<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> birthdays. As the boomers grow older, their middle-aged children may find themselves in a challenging situation: providing financial assistance to their parents as well as their own kids.</span> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:53:39 +0000 Chornyak & Associates 59213 at http://wcbe.org Talking to Your Aging Parents About Their Finances Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities http://wcbe.org/post/math-nerd-or-bookworm-many-same-genes-shape-both-abilities <strong></strong>Many of us tend to align ourselves with either numbers or words. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:46:00 +0000 Maanvi Singh 59211 at http://wcbe.org Math Nerd Or Bookworm? Many Of The Same Genes Shape Both Abilities Results Of Indonesia's Presidential Election In Limbo http://wcbe.org/post/results-limbo-after-indonesias-presidential-election As rival candidates both claim victory in Indonesia's presidential election, police have joined the country's outgoing leader in calling on supporters of the two camps not to celebrate the results until the political limbo is resolved.<p>While unofficial "quick counts," appear to give Jakarta's governor, Joko Widodo, a slim lead, former army Gen. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:37:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 59212 at http://wcbe.org Results Of Indonesia's Presidential Election In Limbo 4 Children, 2 Adults Killed In Apparent Domestic Dispute In Texas http://wcbe.org/post/man-texas-kills-4-children-2-adults-apparent-domestic-dispute <strong>This post was updated at 11:10 a.m. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:02:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 59210 at http://wcbe.org