Associated Press http://wcbe.org en Researchers Predict High Levels of Toxic Algae In Lake Erie http://wcbe.org/post/researchers-predict-high-levels-toxic-algae-lake-erie <p><span lang="EN">Researchers predict Lake Erie will have a significant bloom of toxic blue-green algae in its western basin this summer but say it won't be as large as last year or the record-setting 2011 outbreak. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 00:15:49 +0000 Associated Press 59284 at http://wcbe.org Researchers Predict High Levels of Toxic Algae In Lake Erie Three Small Tornadoes Touch Down In Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/three-small-tornadoes-touch-down-ohio <div><p>The National Weather Service says three small tornadoes touched down in northeastern Ohio, causing minor damage, as strong storms moved across the state.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:07:06 +0000 Associated Press 59141 at http://wcbe.org Three Small Tornadoes Touch Down In Ohio Two Galloway Men Charged With Dumping Dead Woman's Body http://wcbe.org/post/two-galloway-men-charged-dumping-dead-womans-body <div><p>Franklin County Sheriff's deputies say two men dumped a female companion's body in a ditch near a cornfield after she died from an apparent heroin overdose.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:05:14 +0000 Associated Press 59140 at http://wcbe.org Two Galloway Men Charged With Dumping Dead Woman's Body Authorities: Motorcycle Rider Killed In Ohio Crash http://wcbe.org/post/authorities-motorcycle-rider-killed-ohio-crash <div>Authorities say a passenger on a motorcycle was killed in a crash involving a pickup truck in central Ohio.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 12:54:16 +0000 Associated Press 58998 at http://wcbe.org Ohio State Football Player Arrested In NE Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-state-football-player-arrested-ne-ohio <div><p>Lorain police say Ohio State University defensive end Tracy Sprinkle has been arrested on charges of cocaine possession, rioting and failure to disperse after a bar fight early Saturday.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 12:48:02 +0000 Associated Press 58995 at http://wcbe.org Ohio State Football Player Arrested In NE Ohio Gambling Interests Say JobsOhio Ruling Protects Them From Suit http://wcbe.org/post/gambling-interests-say-jobsohio-ruling-protects-them-suit <p><span lang="EN">A coalition of gambling interests is citing a recent Ohio Supreme Court decision involving Governor John Kasich's privatized job-creation agency, JobsOhio, as grounds to dismiss a separate lawsuit challenging&nbsp;video lottery terminals at horse tracks. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:08:34 +0000 Associated Press 58813 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Firefighter Critical After Lightning Strike http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-firefighter-critical-after-lightning-strike <p>Authorities say a Columbus firefighter remained in critical condition two days after being struck by lightning outside Crew stadium.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 16:49:19 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58639 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Delays New Requirements For Jobless Benefits http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-delays-new-requirements-jobless-benefits <div><p>The state says it's delaying the enforcement of new regulations that require Ohioans to do more to get unemployment insurance benefits.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 16:22:39 +0000 Associated Press 58391 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Delays New Requirements For Jobless Benefits Big Ten Advocates 4-Year Scholarships http://wcbe.org/post/big-ten-advocates-4-year-scholarships <div>The Big Ten says it supports guaranteed four-year scholarships and improved medical coverage for its athletes.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:41:57 +0000 Associated Press 58382 at http://wcbe.org Chief Of Staff To Stivers Resigns http://wcbe.org/post/chief-staff-stivers-resigns <p>The chief of staff for Republican Congressman Steve Stivers of Columbus has resigned, citing poor judgment in his personal life after a graphic photo of him appeared online.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:38:18 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58381 at http://wcbe.org Chief Of Staff To Stivers Resigns Clean Air Act Plea In Ohio Air Conditioner Thefts http://wcbe.org/post/clean-air-act-plea-ohio-air-conditioner-thefts <p>A Columbus man has pleaded guilty to violating the Clean Air Act by releasing a refrigerant into the air during the theft of dozens of air conditioning units.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:35:36 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58380 at http://wcbe.org Nominations Sought For Ohio Veterans Hall Of Fame http://wcbe.org/post/nominations-sought-ohio-veterans-hall-fame <div>Officials with the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame say time is running out to nominate veterans for the hall's 2014 class.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:54:43 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58250 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Panel Picks Finalists For 34 Education Grants http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-panel-picks-finalists-34-education-grants <div>A state panel has selected more than 100 schools and educational entities as finalists for grants from an innovation fund established by Gov. John Kasich.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:30:39 +0000 Associated Press 58239 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Elections Chief Sets New Early Voting Hours http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-elections-chief-sets-new-early-voting-hours <p>Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted&nbsp;has issued new early voting hours for the final days before Election Day following a federal judge's order last week.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:44:00 +0000 Associated Press 57960 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Elections Chief Sets New Early Voting Hours Investigation Shows $52K In Fuel Missing From Clinton County ODOT Tanks http://wcbe.org/post/investigation-shows-52k-fuel-missing-clinton-county-odot-tanks <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio Inspector General's investigation has concluded that more than 14,700 gallons of fuel were not accounted for from two Ohio Department of Transportation tanks in Clinton County. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 22:27:49 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm & Associated press 57869 at http://wcbe.org Rose Back For A Day To Manage Minor League Squad http://wcbe.org/post/rose-back-day-manage-minor-league-squad <p>Pete Rose returns to manage a baseball team, but just for one game. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:34:33 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 57824 at http://wcbe.org Rose Back For A Day To Manage Minor League Squad Court OKs Challenge To Ohio Ban On Campaign Lies http://wcbe.org/post/court-oks-challenge-ohio-ban-campaign-lies <div>The Supreme Court says an anti-abortion group can challenge an Ohio law that bars people from making false statements about political candidates during a campaign.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:30:42 +0000 Associated Press 57823 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Retirees Help International Students http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-retirees-help-international-students <div>International students at a southwest Ohio college are getting help with English from retirees.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:44:09 +0000 Associated Press 57815 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Justices: Payday Loans Unaffected By 2008 Law http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-justices-payday-loans-unaffected-2008-law <div>In a victory for payday lenders, the Ohio Supreme Court has ruled that a two-week loan to an Elyria man that imposed more than 235-percent interest is not prohibited under Ohio's mortgage lending laws.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:21:57 +0000 Associated Press 57558 at http://wcbe.org Ohio, Illinois Soldiers Among 5 Dead In Airstrike http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-illinois-soldiers-among-5-dead-airstrike <div>A relative says a 25-year-old soldier from Ohio was among five American troops killed in an airstrike in southern Afghanistan.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 15:05:49 +0000 Associated Press 57552 at http://wcbe.org