Capital Punishment http://wcbe.org en Capital Punishment Panel Poised To Issue Report http://wcbe.org/post/capital-punishment-panel-poised-issue-report <p>Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice Maureen O'Connor says divisions&nbsp;on a panel studying capital punishment convened in 2011 by O'Connor finalized its recommendations last week and now awaits a dissenting report from prosecutors on the committee who disagreed with some proposals. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:25:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54461 at http://wcbe.org Poll: Ohioans Support Capital Punishment http://wcbe.org/post/poll-ohioans-support-capital-punishment <p><span lang="EN">A Quinnipiac University poll shows Ohioans strongly support the death penalty, but support declines when a jury has other options. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 12:04:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51427 at http://wcbe.org Death Row Inmate Sues To Block His Execution http://wcbe.org/post/death-row-inmate-sues-block-his-execution <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio death row inmate is suing to stop his March execution, alleging the state's capital punishment policy leaves open the chance someone could remain clinically alive after being pronounced dead. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 11:27:30 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49988 at http://wcbe.org Problems With Execution Of Convicted Killer http://wcbe.org/post/problems-execution-convicted-killer <p><span lang="EN">An attorney for the family of a killer whose execution by lethal injection Thursday was marked by several minutes of unprecedented gasping and unusual sounds plans to sue the state over what happened. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 12:23:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 49681 at http://wcbe.org Problems With Execution Of Convicted Killer Proposal To Abolish Death Penalty Appeals To Cost-Conscious http://wcbe.org/post/proposal-abolish-death-penalty-appeals-cost-conscious <p>There’s another bill in the Ohio House of Representatives to abolish the death penalty. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 00:41:55 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 47555 at http://wcbe.org Panel Recommends No Death Penalty For Mentally Ill Offenders http://wcbe.org/post/panel-recommends-no-death-penalty-mentally-ill-offenders <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">An Ohio Supreme Court committee examining capital punishment wants lawmakers to debate whether the death penalty should be off the table for offenders with serious mental illness. Fri, 27 Sep 2013 10:42:30 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43882 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Panel Issues Death Penalty Recommendations http://wcbe.org/post/supco-panel-issues-death-penalty-recommendations <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An Ohio Supreme Court committee studying the death penalty is recommending many of the added factors that lead to a capital punishment case, such as rape, robbery or burglary, be removed from the state's death penalty law. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 11:12:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38385 at http://wcbe.org Former Justice Now Opposes Death Penalty http://wcbe.org/post/former-justice-now-opposes-death-penalty <P>A former Ohio Supreme Court justice who mostly sided with the majority in death penalty cases says she now opposes capital punishment. Fri, 14 Jun 2013 13:19:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 37593 at http://wcbe.org