Ohio Highway Patrol http://wcbe.org en Ohio Soldier Killed In Traffic Accident http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-soldier-killed-traffic-accident <p><span lang="EN">Funeral services are scheduled&nbsp;today for a U.S. Marine from Ohio who was killed in a crash while on leave. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:46:12 +0000 Jim Letizia 59293 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Soldier Killed In Traffic Accident Holiday Weekend Traffic Fatalities Up Over Last Year http://wcbe.org/post/holiday-weekend-traffic-fatalities-over-last-year <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol says a dozen people died in traffic crashes during the Fourth of July holiday weekend. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:17:08 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59054 at http://wcbe.org Holiday Weekend Traffic Fatalities Up Over Last Year Springfield Cop Hits Pedestrian http://wcbe.org/post/springfield-cop-hits-pedestrian <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol is investigating a fatal auto-pedestrian accident involving a Springfield police officer on Sunday. Tue, 27 May 2014 10:58:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 56711 at http://wcbe.org Springfield Cop Hits Pedestrian OHP: Teens Killed In Clark County Crash Were Intoxicated http://wcbe.org/post/ohp-teens-killed-clark-county-crash-were-intoxicated <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol used DNA testing to learn who was driving a car that crashed in Clark County in March, killing three teenagers. Fri, 23 May 2014 15:42:19 +0000 Jim Letizia 56562 at http://wcbe.org OHP: Teens Killed In Clark County Crash Were Intoxicated Former OHP Trooper Reaches Plea Deal In His OVI Case http://wcbe.org/post/former-ohp-trooper-reaches-plea-deal-his-ovi-case <p><span lang="EN">A former Ohio Highway patrol trooper has been ordered to spend three days in alcohol treatment as part of a plea deal to drunken driving charges. Thu, 15 May 2014 11:18:03 +0000 Jim Letizia 56035 at http://wcbe.org Former OHP Trooper Reaches Plea Deal In His OVI Case Two Injured In Helicopter Crash http://wcbe.org/post/two-injured-helicopter-crash <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol and federal authorities are searching for the cause of Thursday's crash of a small, privately owned helicopter into a field in Union County. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 11:28:17 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54954 at http://wcbe.org OHP Trooper Fired For Driving Drunk http://wcbe.org/post/ohp-trooper-fired-driving-drunk <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol trooper charged with causing a crash in the Short North while driving drunk last month is out of work. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 11:31:27 +0000 Jim Letizia 53232 at http://wcbe.org OHP: Speed And Weather Caused Turnpike Crashes http://wcbe.org/post/ohp-speed-and-weather-caused-turnpike-crashes <p><span lang="EN">A preliminary investigation into the cause of a series of fatal Ohio Turnpike crashes earlier this month blames drivers' speeds, road conditions and weather.&nbsp; Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:36:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 53052 at http://wcbe.org Turnpike Crash Victims Identified http://wcbe.org/post/turnpike-crash-victims-identified <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol has identified the three people killed and the trooper who was injured in Wednesday's chain-reaction crashes on the Ohio Turnpike. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:54:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 52609 at http://wcbe.org Major Ohio Turnpike Crash Kills Three http://wcbe.org/post/major-ohio-turnpike-crash-kills-three <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol says three people died Wednesday in crashes involving at least 50 vehicles across a 2-mile section&nbsp;of the eastbound lanes of the Ohio Turnpike between Toledo and Cleveland. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 11:37:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52585 at http://wcbe.org Major Ohio Turnpike Crash Kills Three Chase Ends With Crash Downtown http://wcbe.org/post/chase-ends-crash-downtown <p><span lang="EN">State Highway Patrol Troopers arrested two teenagers this morning following a high-speed chase that ended near Vine and High Streets in downtown Columbus. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 17:18:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 50398 at http://wcbe.org Utility Worker Killed In Madison County http://wcbe.org/post/utility-worker-killed-madison-county <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol says a utility worker walking at a Madison County construction site was run over by a truck and died yesterday. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 12:13:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 49515 at http://wcbe.org Utility Worker Killed In Madison County Madison County Crash Claims One Life http://wcbe.org/post/madison-county-crash-claims-one-life <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The State Highway Patrol is investigating yesterday's fatal crash in Madison County. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:12:48 +0000 Jim Letizia 49008 at http://wcbe.org 2013 Was Record Low Year For Traffic Fatalities http://wcbe.org/post/2013-was-record-low-year-traffic-fatalities <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Preliminary State Highway Patrol data shows 2013 was a record low year for the number of traffic fatalities. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 11:57:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48948 at http://wcbe.org Impaired Driving Arrests Over Holiday Increase, Fatalities Decrease http://wcbe.org/post/impaired-driving-arrests-over-holiday-increase-fatalities-decrease <p>The Ohio State Highway Patrol says the Thanksgiving holiday in Ohio was slightly more dangerous this year than last.&nbsp; Tue, 03 Dec 2013 00:16:43 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 47420 at http://wcbe.org Crash Injures OHP Sergeant, Motorist http://wcbe.org/post/crash-injures-ohp-sergeant-motorist <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The State Highway Patrol says a trooper at the scene of an accident on I-70 near Springfield was struck by a passing vehicle early this morning. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 16:35:35 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 47132 at http://wcbe.org Traffic Fatalities Down This Year http://wcbe.org/post/traffic-fatalities-down-year <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says more than 8 hundred hundred people have died in crashes on Ohio roads so far this year, a decline of roughly 3 hundred from last year. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 17:33:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 46575 at http://wcbe.org OHP Finds Car Suspected In Death Of Bicyclist http://wcbe.org/post/ohp-finds-car-suspected-death-bicyclist <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The State Highway Patrol has found the vehicle suspected of striking and killing </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>a St. Francis DeSales High School teacher on Sunday. Fri, 20 Sep 2013 11:31:12 +0000 Jim Letizia 43487 at http://wcbe.org Bicyclist Killed In Marysville http://wcbe.org/post/bicyclist-killed-marysville <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The State Highway Patrol is investigating Thursday's death of a bicyclist who was struck by a vehicle and killed in Marysville. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 11:03:18 +0000 Jim Letizia 42635 at http://wcbe.org OHP Investigating Chillicothe Dispatcher http://wcbe.org/post/ohp-investigating-chillicothe-dispatcher <P>The State Highway Patrol is investigating whether a dispatcher properly responded when Chillicothe police called to report a reckless driver shortly before a fatal crash on July 4th. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:42:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41758 at http://wcbe.org