American Electric Power http://wcbe.org en Storms Knock Out Power For Thousands http://wcbe.org/post/storms-knock-out-power-thousands <p><span lang="EN">Cleanup efforts will continue today after strong storms struck throughout the state last night. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 10:28:09 +0000 Jim Letizia 58020 at http://wcbe.org Storms Knock Out Power For Thousands AEP Seeks Rate Cut http://wcbe.org/post/aep-seeks-rate-cut <p><span lang="EN">Columbus-based American Electric Power is planning to cut rates for most residential customers by 12.6 percent. Tue, 27 May 2014 15:21:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56730 at http://wcbe.org AEP Seeks Rate Cut SUPCO Blocks Duke From Passing Clean-Up Costs To Consumers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-blocks-duke-passing-clean-costs-consumers <p>The Ohio Supreme Court has temporarily blocked Duke Energy from charging customers for pollution clean-up at its deactivated manufactured-gas plants. Thu, 15 May 2014 12:16:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56041 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Blocks Duke From Passing Clean-Up Costs To Consumers Update: Underground Explosions Close Some Downtown Streets http://wcbe.org/post/update-underground-explosions-close-some-downtown-streets <p><span lang="EN">Columbus police say a fire in an underground vault belonging to Columbus-based American Electric Power caused several underground explosions downtown early this morning. The blasts&nbsp;knocked off manhole covers, set off fire alarms, knocked out traffic signals&nbsp;and caused several power outages. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 11:38:56 +0000 Jim Letizia 51920 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Rejects Refunds For AEP Customers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-rejects-refunds-aep-customers <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court has rejected an appeal seeking 368 million dollars in refunds for customers of Columbus-based American Electric Power. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 17:27:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51164 at http://wcbe.org AEP Rates Could Fall Slightly Next Year http://wcbe.org/post/aep-rates-could-fall-slightly-next-year <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">American Electric Power is proposing a rate reduction for Ohio customers beginning in the summer of 2015 - one the state's utility watchdog says doesn't go far enough. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 16:04:22 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 49114 at http://wcbe.org Source Of Local Power Outage Undetermined http://wcbe.org/post/source-local-power-outage-undetermined <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Work is underway to find the source of a power outage in Franklin County. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:03:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 49006 at http://wcbe.org State Says Columbus Southern Power Should Refund Customers http://wcbe.org/post/state-says-columbus-southern-power-should-refund-customers <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio says Columbus Southern Power had "excessive earnings" for 2010 under state law and should return 6.9 million dollars to customers. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 11:17:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 45305 at http://wcbe.org Power Restored To Portions Of Franklin, Licking Counties http://wcbe.org/post/power-restored-portions-franklin-licking-counties <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The driver involved in an early morning crash in Reynoldsburg is being treated at a local hospital. Thu, 03 Oct 2013 16:31:09 +0000 Jim Letizia 44236 at http://wcbe.org Squirrel Causes Power Outages http://wcbe.org/post/squirrel-causes-power-outages <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus-based American Electric Power says service has been restored to 95 hundred customers on the North side who lost electricity last night when a squirrel caused a system problem at a substation. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 12:03:17 +0000 Jim Letizia 43245 at http://wcbe.org AEP To Enhance Smart Grid Technology http://wcbe.org/post/aep-enhance-smart-grid-technology <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus-based American Electric Power&nbsp;wants to install new equipment to enhance its smart grid technology. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 12:00:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 43244 at http://wcbe.org Report: Ohio Second For Carbon Dioxide Emissions http://wcbe.org/post/report-ohio-second-carbon-dioxide-emissions <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A report by an environmental group ranks Ohio second in the nation for the amount of carbon dioxide emitted by coal-fired power plants. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 11:31:33 +0000 Jim Letizia 43060 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Delays Vote On Energy Rebates http://wcbe.org/post/puco-delays-vote-energy-rebates <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has delayed action in a case potentially affecting 96 to 126 million dollars in rebates of renewable energy overcharges to customers of Akron-based FirstEnergy. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 10:48:46 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40437 at http://wcbe.org AEP 2Q Profit Down http://wcbe.org/post/aep-2q-profit-down <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus-based American Electric Power is reporting a decline in second quarter profit and flat sales figures, due to weak demand for electricity. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 16:21:03 +0000 Jim Letizia 40026 at http://wcbe.org Thousands Still Without Power http://wcbe.org/post/thousands-still-without-power <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Utilities report more than 51 thousand customers are without electricity after a series of thunderstorms swept across the state Wednesday. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 10:43:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39214 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Utility Closing More Power Plants http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-utility-closing-more-power-plants <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Akron-based FirstEnergy plans to close two coal-fired power plants in Pennsylvania rather than install 270 million dollars worth of pollution control equipment to meet tougher federal mercury emission standards.&nbsp; Tue, 09 Jul 2013 16:42:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 39007 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Staff Approves AEP Cost Recovery Plan http://wcbe.org/post/puco-staff-approves-aep-cost-recovery-plan <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Public Utilities Commission of Ohio staffers have recommended Columbus-based American Electric Power be allowed to charge customers for nearly all of the 61.8 million dollars it spent on repairs from the June 2012 windstorm. Thu, 30 May 2013 11:28:14 +0000 Jim Letizia 36593 at http://wcbe.org AEP Settles With Feds, Eight States http://wcbe.org/post/aep-settles-feds-eight-states <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus-based American Electric Power will stop burning coal at two power plants in Ohio and Indiana by the end of 2015 under a legal settlement reached with the U.S. EPA, eight states and several environmental groups. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 12:48:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31317 at http://wcbe.org Man Who Made Bomb Threat At AEP Building Hospitalized http://wcbe.org/post/man-who-made-bomb-threat-aep-building-hospitalized <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A man who walked into the lobby of the American Electric Power building in downtown Columbus building and threatened to blow it up last year has been committed to a state psychiatric hospital. Thu, 21 Feb 2013 11:54:27 +0000 Mike Foley 31045 at http://wcbe.org Plans For Solar Farm Scuttled http://wcbe.org/post/plans-solar-farm-scuttled <P>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has nixed plans by Columbus-based American Electric Power to build a large solar farm in Southeast Ohio. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 12:31:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28707 at http://wcbe.org