Tax Breaks http://wcbe.org en State Handing Out More Business Tax Breaks http://wcbe.org/post/state-handing-out-more-business-tax-breaks <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio Department of Taxation report shows since 2012 the amount of tax credits given to businesses promising to create and retain jobs has been rising. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:24:23 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59055 at http://wcbe.org State Handing Out More Business Tax Breaks Council Approves Bond Sale, Repeals Three Tax Breaks http://wcbe.org/post/council-approves-bond-sale-repeals-three-tax-breaks <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council last night approved the sale of 485 million dollars worth of bonds to fund infrastructure projects. Tue, 20 May 2014 11:29:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 56308 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Gives Tax Break To Company Owned By Buffett http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-gives-tax-break-company-owned-buffett <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council last night approved two tax breaks for a profitable private company to locate at Port Columbus. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 11:14:34 +0000 Jim Letizia 55139 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Gives Tax Break To Company Owned By Buffett Billionaire's Company Gets Local Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/billionaires-company-gets-local-tax-break <p><span lang="EN">The village of New Albany is giving retailer L Brands a full property tax abatement for 15 years to build a new 175 million dollar facility on Smith's Mill Road. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:47:18 +0000 Jim Letizia 52607 at http://wcbe.org Internet Firm Gets City Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/internet-firm-gets-city-tax-break <p></p><p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council last night approved a five year tax break for an internet company to retain and create jobs at a downtown building. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 12:05:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 52456 at http://wcbe.org Internet Firm Gets City Tax Break Columbus Gives Medical Mutual A Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-gives-medical-mutual-tax-break <p><span lang="EN">The city of Columbus is giving Medical Mutual of Ohio a tax break to move 38 jobs from Delaware County to a building on West Broad Street. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 17:38:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 52094 at http://wcbe.org Council To Pass Tax Incentives For Job Creation http://wcbe.org/post/council-pass-tax-incentives-job-creation <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council tonight is expected to approve tax breaks for three profitable businesses, including one based in Japan. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 16:22:48 +0000 Jim Letizia 50515 at http://wcbe.org AG Issues Annual Report On State Tax Breaks http://wcbe.org/post/ag-issues-annual-report-state-tax-breaks <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine says 55 percent of companies that got state tax breaks in 2012 met requirements to retain and create jobs. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 11:44:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 48421 at http://wcbe.org Hospital Chain Gets Columbus Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/hospital-chain-gets-columbus-tax-break <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">An affiliate of a large hospital chain is getting a tax break from the city of Columbus to move into the downtown area. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 12:25:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 48355 at http://wcbe.org Investigation Raises Doubts About Tax Breaks And Job Creation http://wcbe.org/post/investigation-raises-doubts-about-tax-breaks-and-job-creation <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A Toledo Blade investigation into whether taxpayer funding creates jobs in Ohio shows state documents inflating the number of jobs created by more than 11 thousand. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 15:58:48 +0000 Jim Letizia & Toledo Blade 45800 at http://wcbe.org Council Approves Money For Bridge Repairs, Payment Of OSU Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/council-approves-money-bridge-repairs-payment-osu-tax-break <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus City Council last night approved a 7.2 million dollar payment to Ohio State University. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 11:17:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 45548 at http://wcbe.org Tax Breaks Prompt Company To Leave Urbana http://wcbe.org/post/tax-breaks-prompt-company-leave-urbana <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A German-based maker of cooling systems for computers and servers is moving its U.S. headquarters from Urbana, Ohio to Schaumburg, Illinois. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 10:45:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41823 at http://wcbe.org Profitable Truck Parts Maker Gets Local Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/profitable-truck-parts-maker-gets-local-tax-break <P>The City of Columbus is giving truck parts maker Core Molding Technologies a five year, 25 percent tax break on the income generated by the creation of 85 new jobs. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 11:01:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 39142 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Company Getting Second Municipal Tax Break http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-company-getting-second-municipal-tax-break <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A food storage company is getting a second tax break from the city of Columbus. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 11:55:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 38399 at http://wcbe.org Council Approves Tax Break For Hotel Developers http://wcbe.org/post/council-approves-tax-break-hotel-developers <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus City Council last night approved a 10-year property-tax break for developers of the University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center on Olentangy River Road near Ohio State University, to allow for changing the facility into a Marriott hotel. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 11:03:27 +0000 Jim Letizia 37786 at http://wcbe.org Council Delays Tax Break, Approves Food Truck Program http://wcbe.org/post/council-delays-tax-break-approves-food-truck-program <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus City Council last night approved the creation of a pilot program regulating food trucks. Tue, 11 Jun 2013 11:22:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 37339 at http://wcbe.org Graffiti Removal Program Extended http://wcbe.org/post/graffiti-removal-program-extended <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus City Council last night approved spending 60 thousand dollars to extend for a year a contract with a private company to carry out the city's graffiti removal program. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 12:53:02 +0000 Jim Letizia 36912 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Giving Tax Breaks To Three Firms http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-giving-tax-breaks-three-firms <P><SPAN lang=EN>Columbus City Council last night approved legislation giving tax breaks to three companies. Tue, 25 Sep 2012 13:50:03 +0000 Jim Letizia 23257 at http://wcbe.org