Centers For Disease Control And Prevention http://wcbe.org en Ohio Ranked 12th For Opioid Prescriptions http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-ranked-12th-opioid-prescriptions <p><span lang="EN">The Centers for Disease Control says Ohio doctors prescribe painkillers at high rates. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 12:01:48 +0000 Jim Letizia 58835 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Ranked 12th For Opioid Prescriptions Majority Of U.S. Measles Cases Are In Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/majority-us-measles-cases-are-ohio <p><span lang="EN">The Centers for Disease Control says measles cases are at a 20-year high, and 60-percent of those cases are in Ohio. Fri, 30 May 2014 11:26:18 +0000 Jim Letizia 56946 at http://wcbe.org Majority Of U.S. Measles Cases Are In Ohio Health Officials Investigating Suspected Measles Outbreak http://wcbe.org/post/health-officials-investigating-suspected-measles-outbreak <p><span lang="EN">Knox County Health officials are working with the Centers for Disease Control to confirm 13 suspected cases of measles. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 11:04:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 54946 at http://wcbe.org Health Officials Investigating Suspected Measles Outbreak Health Advocates Propose Expanding Liability Laws http://wcbe.org/post/health-advocates-propose-expanding-liability-laws <p></p><p>A rec<span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">ent Gallup poll found less than 50-percent of Ohioans work out three or more days a week, placing the state in the bottom ten for the sixth-straight year. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 11:28:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 52584 at http://wcbe.org Health Advocates Propose Expanding Liability Laws Ohio's Smoking Rate Still High; Dropping Very Slowly http://wcbe.org/post/ohios-smoking-rate-still-high-dropping-very-slowly <p><span lang="EN">Despite a half century of government warnings, nearly one in four Ohioans still smoke. Mon, 03 Feb 2014 22:22:14 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 50543 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Ranked Poorly For Public Health http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-ranked-poorly-public-health <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A non-profit group established by a managed health care company says Ohio is one of the unhealthiest states in the nation. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 17:41:22 +0000 Jim Letizia 48043 at http://wcbe.org CDC Reports Says 2 Million Americans Sickened By Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria http://wcbe.org/post/cdc-reports-says-2-million-americans-sickened-antibiotic-resistant-bacteria <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Centers for Disease Control says more than 2 million Americans are sickened and more than 20 thousand die each year from antibiotic-resistant bacteria. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 22:52:34 +0000 Alison Holm 45221 at http://wcbe.org New Forms Of Vaccine Available For Flu Season http://wcbe.org/post/new-forms-vaccine-available-flu-season <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Flu Vaccines available this year include the quadrivalent vaccine, designed to fight four strains rather than the traditional three...&nbsp; Tue, 01 Oct 2013 00:00:14 +0000 Alison Holm 44040 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Again Ranked High For Adult Obesity http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-again-ranked-high-adult-obesity <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Centers for Disease Control again ranks Ohio as one of the nation's most obese states. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 16:29:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 41445 at http://wcbe.org Columbus' Firearm Homicide Rate Increases http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-firearm-homicide-rate-increases <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A new study by the Centers for Disease Control shows the rate of firearm homicides dropped in Cincinnati, Cleveland, and other major metropolitan areas from 2006 to 2010. Thu, 08 Aug 2013 10:42:45 +0000 Jim Letizia 40883 at http://wcbe.org Study On Childhood Choking Incidents http://wcbe.org/post/study-childhood-choking-incidents <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A new study by researchers at Children's Hospital in Columbus shows more than 30 kids in the U.S. are treated each day in emergency departments for food-related choking. Tue, 30 Jul 2013 16:34:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Mike Foley 40323 at http://wcbe.org Cyclospora Outbreak Hits Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/cyclospora-outbreak-hits-ohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A 63-year-old Lucas County woman is among at least 285 people sickened in an outbreak of Cyclospora&nbsp;in Ohio, Georgia and nine other states. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 16:24:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 40123 at http://wcbe.org Salmonella Outbreak Linked To Pet Frogs http://wcbe.org/post/salmonella-outbreak-linked-pet-frogs <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Parents and children in Ohio and 43 other states are urged to take precautions after a study linked a salmonella outbreak in kids to a frog commonly kept as a pet. Tue, 12 Mar 2013 16:40:10 +0000 Jim Letizia 32162 at http://wcbe.org Most Overdose Deaths Involve Prescriptions http://wcbe.org/post/most-overdose-deaths-involve-prescriptions <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A new report by the Centers for Disease Control shows most drug overdose deaths in the U.S. involve prescription painkillers and&nbsp;not illegal substances. Thu, 21 Feb 2013 17:40:02 +0000 Jim Letizia 31092 at http://wcbe.org CDC Report On Swine Flu http://wcbe.org/post/cdc-report-swine-flu <P><SPAN lang=EN>The Centers for Disease Control says more than two-thirds of those </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>hospitalized after contracting the swine flu virus at county fairs were from </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>Ohio. Fri, 28 Sep 2012 16:27:00 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 23482 at http://wcbe.org